Saturday, June 8, 2024

1980 – Martin, Trickle Win Hi-Rev 150 Features

Mark Martin

By Gary Vercauteren

Kaukauna, Wis. (June 8, 1980) – Mark Martin of Batesville, Ark., and Dick Trickle of Wisconsin Rapids won 50-lap late model features in the ARTGO-sanctioned Hi-Rev 150 Sunday before a crowd of 5,916 at Wisconsin International Raceway.

Martin had an impressive debut on the paved half-mile as he demolished Trickle’s one-lap qualifying record in time trials with an amazing time of 19.574 seconds, averaging 92.70 miles per hour. Trickle’s old standard was 20.07 seconds. In all, five late model drivers broke Trickle’s old one-lap mark during qualifying as the field of 54 drivers gathered for the $20,000 purse.

The total field for three classes was 104 cars, establishing an all-time ARTGO record.

The first 50-lap feature was a real sizzler as Larry Detjens of Wausau broke into the lead after starting on the front row with J.J. Smith of Appleton. Trickle moved into second place on the sixth lap while Milton’s Dave Watson was able to grab the lead from Detjens. Trickle then made his move to the inside of Watson coming out of the fourth turn on lap 10 to take the lead.

Martin began his move to the front as he took over the fourth spot on lap 14, moved into third on the 21st circuit, and then got past Necedah’s Jim Sauter for second position on lap 41.

Martin and Trickle then ran wheel-to-wheel the final eight laps with Trickle in the lower groove and Martin constantly testing him on the outside. Trickle was able to hold off Martin and win by a car length. Sauter was third, followed by Joe shear of South Beloit, Ill., and Butch Miller of Lawton, Mich.

Ed Hoffman of Bensenville, Ill., an ARTGO winner in Indiana two weeks ago, led off the second 50-lapper, leading until the halfway point. The early portion of the race was three-car battle with Hoffman, Alan Kulwicki of Milwaukee and J.J. Smith doing battle.

Martin would start his move to the front from his fifth row starting position. He began chewing up some distance between himself and the leaders. He took over fourth position on lap 16 when he was able to slip around Watson. Two laps later, he powered past Smith and took over the third spot, and then on the 21st lap, he was able to motor past Kulwicki for second place. At the halfway point, he overtook Hoffman and went on to win by eight car lengths.

Martin, a two-time American Speed Association champion, would be declared the overall winner. “I’ve never run on a track quite like this,” he said of the D-shaped track. “It didn’t take me that long to get used to it.”

I really enjoy racing against these Wisconsin guys,” he added. “And the fans are just great.”

Results –

Feature #1 –

1. Dick Trickle, Wisconsin Rapids
2. Mark Martin, Batesville, Ark.
3. Jim Sauter, Necedah
4. Joe Shear, South Beloit, Ill.
5. Butch Miller, Lawton, Mich.
6. Mike Miller, Wisconsin Rapids
7. Dave Watson, Milton
8. J.J. Smith, Appleton
9. Bob Senneker, Dorr, Mich.
10.Alan Kulwicki, Milwaukee

Feature #2 –

1. Mark Martin
2. Ed Hoffman, Bensenville, Ill.
3. Alan Kulwicki
4. Bob Senneker
5. Dick Trickle
6. Jim Sauter
7. Mike Miller
8. Joe Shear
9. J.J. Smith
10.Larry Detjens, Wausau

No comments:

Post a Comment