Sunday, June 9, 2024

1962 – Keokuk Trio Runs 1-2-3 at Sun Set

Ramo Stott checks the wheel lugs prior to the start of the 100-lap IMCA stock car race at Sun Set Speedway.

Omaha, Neb. (June 9, 1962) – Three racers from Keokuk, Iowa, made the first 100-lap race at Sun Set Speedway a hometown affair Saturday night.

Ramo Stott, Ernie Derr, and Dick Hutcherson, finished the long grind in a bumper-to-bumper race.

Derr, the defending International Motor Contest association champion, led the first 51 laps of the contest until Stott took over and set the pace the rest of the way on the program that drew a throng of 3,846 spectators.

Der would make a couple of late-race challenges but Stott, runner-up in the 1961 point standings behind Derr, fended off the challenges to take the checkers ahead of his town rivals.

Johnny Beauchamp of Atlantic, Iowa, a veteran campaigner and former IMCA champion, came in fourth while Darrell Dake of Cedar Rapids, Iowa, another veteran of the IMCA ranks rounded out the top-five.

There was no time given on the feature because of a 15-minute delay when Mick McMahon, also of Keokuk, straddled his 1962 Ford on the fence. Spilled fuel on the track had to be burned off before the race could be continued.

Results –

Heat #1 – Ernie Derr, Keokuk, Iowa
Heat #2 – Darrell Dake, Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Consolation – Buzz McCann, St. Paul, Minn.
Feature –
1. Ramo Stott, Keokuk, Iowa
2. Ernie Derr
3. Dick Hutcherson, Keokuk, Iowa
4. Johnny Beauchamp, Atlantic, Iowa
5. Darrell Dake
6. Buzz McCann
7. Mert Williams, Rochester, Minn.
8. Newt Bartholomew, Carlisle, Iowa
9. Ed Birkey, Peoria, Ill.
10.Bill Moyer, Des Moines, Iowa

No comments:

Post a Comment