Sunday, May 26, 2024

1980 - Miller's Time in Sands Memorial 100

Mike Miller 

Plover, Wis. (May 26, 1980) – Mike Miller of Wisconsin Rapids took the Memorial 100 for late models at Golden Sands Speedway on Monday.

Dan Prziborowski of Savage, Minn., led the opening laps of the feature, which saw Rudolph’s Tom Reffner sidelined after his mount’s engine starting smoking on lap 8. One go-round later, Marv Marzofka of Nekoosa pulled off with the same issues.

Larry Detjens of Wausau grabbed the lead from Prziborowski on lap 25 with Miller following behind, close to his rear bumper.

Miller seized the lead from Detjens on the 27th circuit by moving around on the outside. After that, it was a matter of how many drivers Miller could lap in the remaining 70 laps.

At the finish, Miller would win easily with Detjens finishing a distant second. Jim Sauter of Necedah would finish third and was the only other driver on the same lap as Miller and Detjens.

Ted Musgrave of Grand Marsh was fourth and J.J. Smith of Appleton rounded out the top five finishers.

Results –

1. Mike Miller, Wisconsin Rapids
2. Larry Detjens, Wausau
3. Jim Sauter, Necedah
4. Ted Musgrave, Grand Marsh
5. J.J. Smith, Appleton
6. Dan Prziborowski, Savage, Minn.
7. Jim Derhaag, Shakopee, Minn.
8. Ken Lund, Deerfield
9. Steve Moll, LaValle
10.Pat Schauer, Watertown

No comments:

Post a Comment