Monday, May 27, 2024

1979 – Strupp Wins Slinger Memorial 50

Tony Strupp won his first late model feature of the season at Slinger Super Speedway, the Memorial 50. Joining Strupp in victory lane is track owner Wayne Erickson. - Marty Lemmermann Photo

Slinger, Wis. (May 27, 1979) – Tony Strupp of Slinger guided his new Camaro to his first late model feature win of the season by edging track champion Alan Kulwicki of Milwaukee in the Memorial 50 at Slinger Super Speedway on Sunday evening.

Dave Magnus of Germantown, jumped from outside row one starting position to take the lead on the first lap over Leonard Reimer of Janesville.

Bill Strom of West Allis, moved up on lap 3 and overtook Reimer for second place. The three were running close together until Al Schill of Franklin began to move up from the back of the pack on lap 6.

Schill went from third, to second, to first on successive laps. He began to build a lead as his competitors became entangled with slower traffic.

With his lead building, Schill appeared unbeatable. However, onlap 12, Schill struck Ted Dolhun of Milwaukee. While attempting to pass and spun on the backstretch, coming to rest in the infield. The damage to the car’s A-frame prevented him from continuing, giving the top spot to Jerry Eckhardt of Watertown. Who had taken advantage of the caution period to move up from the rear.

One lap after the restart, Kulwicki passed Eckhardt for the lead.

Another yellow flag came out when Tim Sandretti of Iron Ridge spun his car on the backstretch, but Kulwicki remained in first after the restart.

Strupp came up from behind Eckhardt and passed him, giving him second place. Strupp then passed Kulwicki on lap 23 and took the lead for good. Once in front, Strupp sped away, leaving Kulwicki and the rest of the field.

Kulwicki would hold off Eckhardt for second place with Willie Goeden of Kewaskum taking fourth and Conrad Morgan of Dousman rounding out the top five finishers.

Ed Evans of West Allis took the lead on lap 13 and went on to win the 20-lap sportsman feature over Bob Mueller of Milwaukee.

Results –

1. Tony Strupp, Slinger
2. Alan Kulwicki, Milwaukee
3. Jerry Eckhardt, Watertown
4. Willie Goeden, Kewaskum
5. Conrad Morgan, Dousman

No comments:

Post a Comment