Sunday, May 5, 2024

1979 - Hoffman Wins Harlan's 'Spring Bonanza'

Don Hoffman 

Harlan, Iowa (May 5, 1979) – Don Hoffman of Des Moines, wrestled the lead away from Dan Rabbass on lap 8 and led the rest of the way to pocket the top prize in the late model stock car portion of Shelby County Speedway’s Spring Bonanza on Saturday night.

Rabbass, from Bellevue, Neb., grabbed the lead from the green flag but couldn’t hold off Hoffman, who pocketed $800 for his feature victory.

The late model portion had been scheduled for Saturday, April 28 but was rained out. Sunday, April 29, rain date also fell to foul weather.

Following Hoffman and Rabbass to the finish line in the 50-lap main event were Joe Merryfield of Des Moines, and Glen Robey and Jerry Wancewicz, both of Omaha.

Heat winners were Merryfield, Bill Martin of Council Bluffs, and Hoffman. Hoffman also won the trophy dash while Bill Kirk of Salix won the consolation.

Results –

Trophy dash – Don Hoffman, Des Moines
Heat #1 – Joe Merryfield, Des Moines
Heat #2 – Bill Martin, Council Bluffs
Heat #3 – Don Hoffman
Consolation – Bill Kirk, Salix
Feature –
1. Don Hoffman
2. Dan Rabbass, Bellevue, Neb.
3. Joe Merryfield
4. Glen Robey, Omaha
5. Jerry Wancewicz, Omaha
6. Bob Kosiski, Omaha
7. Al Druesdow, Omaha
8. Bill Martin
9. Bill Kirk
10.Duane Errett, Harlan
11.Paul Zdan, Omaha
12.Bill Leithoff, Omaha
13.Keith Mander, Omaha
14.Corky Bailey
15.Rob Taylor, Fremont, Neb.

No comments:

Post a Comment