Monday, May 13, 2024

1967 - Eaker Beats Dake to Capture Davenport Win

Verlin Eaker receives the checkered flag from starter Obie Beals after winning the 25-lap late model modified feature at the Mississippi Valley Fairgrounds.

Davenport, Iowa (May 13, 1967) – Verlin Eaker of Cedar Rapids wheeled his red 1964 Plymouth hemi to a feature victory in the late model modified feature at the Mississippi Valley Fairgrounds on Friday night.

Eaker flashed across the finish line ahead of Darrell Dake, also of Cedar Rapids, in his new Ford sedan. Two more Cedar Rapids chauffeurs, Bill McDonough, and John Schlemmer took third and fourth, respectively.

There were more than 30 cars in the modified field and competition was keener than in many years.

Four cars were eliminated on the first lap of the feature in a big tangle. Wreckers pulled Dick Nesteby of Dubuque and Red Droste of Waterloo into the pit area. Dean Montgomery of Milan, Ill., and Ron Weedon of Pleasant Valley had to be cut apart before being towed away.

After the smoke cleared, the main event went off smoothly without those four competitors.

Ray Cox of Davenport continued his mastery over the novice drivers as he copped another feature win – his third of the young season – two here and one at Cedar Rapids.

Schlemmer won the first modified heat, Droste bagged the second, and Cal Swanson of Reinbeck was the third heat winner.

Fred Strube of Peoria, Ill., won the semi-main, a few feet ahead of Johnny Beauchamp of Atlantic, the former IMCA national stock car champion. Dean Montgomery finished third.

Results –

Heat #1 – John Schlemmer, Cedar Rapids
Heat #2 – Red Droste, Waterloo
Heat #3 – Cal Swanson, Reinbeck
Semi-main – Fred Strube, Peoria, Ill.
Feature –
1. Verlin Eaker, Cedar Rapids
2. Darrell Dake, Cedar Rapids
3. Bill McDonough, Cedar Rapids
4. John Schlemmer
5. Jim Gerber, Mt. Joy

No comments:

Post a Comment