Tuesday, May 28, 2024

1978 - Trickle, Senneker take Capital Memorial Day Victories

Dick Trickle would win the first of two 50-lap ARTGO-sanctioned features at Capital Super Speedway. Trickle would place second in the second 50-lapper, giving him the overall title. 

Oregon, Wis. (May 28, 1978) – Dick Trickle added another feature win to his collection as he took home $2,025 of the $13,000 purse in the ARTGO Memorial Day Doubleheader on Sunday afternoon at Capital Super Speedway. Bob Senneker also scored a feature victory.

Trickle was the overall winner, setting a new one-lap record in time trials, besting super-modified driver Bill Klein in the “King-of-the-Hill” match race, and copping the first 50-lap feature for the late models.

Adding a second-place finish in the final 50-lapper, Trickle moved into the all-time ARTGO point lead by 325 markers over Bob Senneker. Trickle’s check also included contingencies from Goodyear, Bemco, Brodex and Franklin.

Senneker took the lead on lap 22 of the second 50-lap main and went on to win the non-stop event over Trickle and Tom Reffner.

Larry Detjens paced the first 50-lap contest for the first 26 circuits before Trickle took the lead. Senneker, Joe Shear and Ed Hoffman ran an extremely tight race for third-place in the closing laps of the main with Senneker eventually securing the third spot. The finish saw Trickle followed by Reffner, Senneker, Shear and Hoffman with Detjens fading to a sixth-place finish.

Due to several tire changes, Shear, Hoffman and Senneker started behind Trickle in the second 50. Dave Watson led the first 10 laps before Reffner took over. Senneker, moving well through traffic, caught Reffner on the 22nd lap.

Trickle passed Reffner in the closing laps for second but was nearly a quarter of a lap behind the Michigan “Blue Bird” at the checkered. Hoffman drove a steady race for fourth followed by Steve Burgess.

Results –

Feature #1 –

1. Dick Trickle, Wisconsin Rapids
2. Tom Reffner, Rudolph
3. Bob Senneker, Dorr, Mich.
4. Joe Shear, South Beloit, Ill.
5. Ed Hoffman, Niles, Ill.
6. Larry Detjens, Wausau
7. Steve Burgess, Eau Claire
8. Doug Strasburg, Johnson Creek
9. Bob Strait, Flossmoor, Ill.
10.Dave Watson, Milton

Feature #2 –

1. Bob Senneker
2. Dick Trickle
3. Tom Reffner
4. Ed Hoffman
5. Steve Burgess
6. Bob Strait
7. Dave Watson
8. Fred Bender, Sun Prairie
9. Pat Schauer, Watertown
10.Danny Darnell, Deerfield, Ill.

The "Michigan Bluebird" Bob Senneker won the second 50-lap feature for ARTGO late models at Capital Super Speedway. ARTGO Racing's Art Frigo makes the trophy presentation

No comments:

Post a Comment