Sunday, April 2, 2017

1995 – Robe stays perfect for $5,000 in Beatrice

Beatrice, Neb. (April 2, 1995) – Marc Robe was just one of many drivers who signed in to do battle at the 2nd annual IMCA Modified Sprint Nationals at Beatrice Speedway, but he was the one who walked away with the glory, the cash, and the championship trophy.

More than 100 IMCA modifieds and their drivers showed up for qualifying sessions on Saturday. Robe began the night on a high note, winning his heat and earning himself a spot in the $5,000 to win main event. After completion of the 12 heats, the winners stepped forward to redraw for a 12-car shootout to determine the first six rows of Sunday’s 40-lap main event. Robe drew the pole position, and from there the competition would case Robe for the remainder of the weekend.

Robe held off Beatrice’s defending track champion, Kevin Larkins of Adams, Neb., for the win in the 12-lap qualifying dash, earning the pole position for Sunday’s finale, with Larkins set to start outside of the front row.

That was as close as anybody would get to Robe as he drove away from the field for victory in the 28-car Spring Nationals feature race. Larkins slipped to third midway through the race as Winona, Minnesota’s Bob Timm came from the seventh starting spot to take the second spot, where he could finish ahead of Larkins, earning $2,500 to Larkins’ $1,200. Kerry Davis of Kansas City, Mo., and Tim Donlinger of Rochester, Minn., rounded out the top five finishers behind Robe, Timm and Larkins.

The main event paid $200 to start with more than $21,000 handed out over the three-day weekend.

In addition to the $5,000 top prize, Robe also pocketed $250 from Sunoco Race Fuels for the being the top finisher using Sunoco. Larkins collected $125 for being the next highest racer “on the gas,” while Ricky Stephan of South Sioux City, Neb., garnered $75 for being the third highest finisher.

Results –

  1. Marc Robe, Wichita, Kan.
  2. Bob Timm, Winona, Minn.   
  3. Kevin Larkins, Greenwood, Neb.
  4. Kerry Davis, Kansas City, Mo.
  5. Tim Donlinger, Rochester, Minn.
  6. Gene Claxton, Kansas City, Mo.
  7. Marc Hurd, Wichita, Kan.
  8. Jack Byers, Spencer, Iowa
  9. Frankie Legg, Beatrice, Neb.
  10. Mike Sandholm, Belleville, Kan.
  11. Curt Gelling, Aberdeen, S.D.
  12. David Murray, Oberlin, Kan.
  13. Mike Heideman, Seneca, Kan.
  14. Joe Kosiski, Omaha, Neb.
  15. Dean Wray, Trenton, Mo.
  16. Ricky Stephan, South Sioux City, Neb.
  17. Steve Droste, Waterloo, Iowa
  18. Rusty Glosser, Lincoln, Neb.
  19. Kenny Sweet Jr., Wichita, Kan.
  20. Sean Burkland, Ceresco, Neb.
  21. Martin Bennett, Des Moines, Iowa
  22. Tony Efkamp, Boone, Iowa
  23. Doug Durham, Omaha, Neb.
  24. Jon Swartz, Omaha, Neb.
  25. Kelly Shryock, Story City, Iowa
  26. Rudy Blake, Wilbur, Neb.
  27. Ken Sweet, Wichita, Kan.
  28. Bruce Serene, Hillsboro, Kan.

No comments:

Post a Comment