Tuesday, April 25, 2017

1987 – Kinser Captures Knoxville ‘Outlaw’ Win

Knoxville, Iowa (April 25, 1987) – Steve Kinser, aboard the Karl Kinser Coors Light Gambler, drove to a convincing win before a huge crowd at the World of Outlaws-sanctioned ‘Spring Opener’ at the Marion County Fairgrounds on Saturday night.
The victory, which extended the fleet Kinser’s series lead, paid $8,000 and was his 176th career World of Outlaws’ feature win.
“I about got caught loafin’,” Kinser said in victory lane as he referred to Jac Haudenschild’s late race charge. “I was just trying to stay out of the holes. The track was rough tonight and there towards the end I thought I had a better lead.”
Thee 25-lap event was halted on lap 8 when race leader Bobby Davis Jr. tangled with a lapped car as he entered turn two. The impact sent the Memphis, Tenn., driver tumbling into the fence. He was transported to the Knoxville Area Community Hospital complaining of discomfort in his arm.
Kinser assumed the lead on the restart and a two-car battle ensued when Haudenschild came into contention shortly thereafter. Both use great portions of the half-mile oval as they fought through lapped traffic for the lead but at the checkered flag it was Kinser with the win.
Haudenschild earned $4,500 for his runner-up finish. Brad Doty, Mark Kinser and Danny Smith rounded out the top five.
Mark Kinser set another new track record in time trials for the weekend, erasing cousin Steve’s 24-hour mark with a clocking of 16.5 seconds.
Heat win went to John Tuttle, Ron Shuman, Greg Rule and Danny Smith. The B-feature was won by John Stevenson.

Results –

Fast time – Mark Kinser (16.50)
First heat – Jeff Tuttle, West Des Moines, Iowa
Second heat – Ron Shuman, Tempe, Ariz.
Third heat – Greg Rule, Pine Grove, Calif.
Fourth heat – Danny Smith, Danville, Ind.
B-main – John Stevenson, St. Paul, Minn.
Feature –

1.    Steve Kinser, Bloomington, Ind.
2.    Jac Haudenschild, Wooster, Ohio
3.    Brad Doty, Millersburg, Ohio
4.    Mark Kinser, Oolitic, Ind.
5.    Danny Smith
6.    Chris Eash, Woodbine, Md.
7.    Jimmy Sills, Placerville, Calif.
8.    Shane Carson, Oklahoma City
9.    Ron Shuman
10.  Bob East, West Des Moines, Iowa
11.  Johnny Herrera, Albuquerque, N.M
      12.  Rocky Hodges, Des Moines
13.  Tim Gee, Jamestown, Ind.
14.  Tony Armstrong, Sands Spring, Okla..
15.  Greg Wooley, Oklahoma City
16.  Danny Lasoski, Dover, Mo.
17.   Jeff Tuttle
18.   John Stevenson
19.   Craig Keel, Weedsport, N.Y.
20.   Kenny Jacobs, Holmesville, Ohio
21.   T.J. Giddings, Kansas City
22.   Bobby Davis Jr., Memphis, Tenn..
23.   Jaymie Moyle, Australia
24.   Greg Rule

No comments:

Post a Comment