Saturday, June 1, 2013

1976 - Ziegler edges Reffner in special 76-lap feature

Plover, Wis. (June 1, 1976) - John Ziegler, who has been nearly unbeatable wherever he has raced this year, added another win to his list as he scored an impressive win in the “Spirit of 76” program at Paul’s Golden Sands Speedway on Tuesday.

Ziegler's win was a very hard fought one, as the Sun Prairie driver had his hands full in trying to hold off a pesky Tom Reffner, Rudolph, who finished second in his new 1974 Javelin.

Ted Kitzrnan, Lakeville, Minn., took the initial lead in the 76-lap main event before mechanical woes forced him out of action. Rich Somers of Stevens Point then took the top spot, which he held until the 32nd lap.

Ziegler and Reffner, meanwhile, were working their way through the pack taking second and third positions on the 26th lap.

Somers, who built up a slight margin, saw it quickly dwindle and finally disappear as Ziegler and Reffner both passed him on the 33rd lap. The two then staged a thrilling battle. They ran handle to handle for nearly 20 laps with neither being able to gain an advantage over the other, much to the delight of the over 3,500 fans.

Ziegler, however, found the extra horsepower he needed and held off Reffner for the final laps.

Joe Shear of South Beloit, Ill. and Marv Marzofka of Nekoosa staged their own battle for third position, with Shear eventually winning that one by about a car length. Somers settled for fifth.

Lodi's Steve Luruey, in his first appearance at the track won the 30-lap semi-feature over a determined Rick Haase of Brokaw. Larry Sparks from Wisconsin Rapids, who was racing for the first time in four years, placed third.

Stevens Point's Harold (Fluff) Furo was running third in that race with six laps to go, but he was forced out because of engine problems. He did manage a third place finish in the second late model heat.

Jerry Bohm took first place honors in the sportsman feature. The Amherst Junction pilot took the lead with two laps remaining and coasted to the win

Top honors in the mini-champ feature went to Jerry Witt of Fond du Lac. In that event Mark Schumacher of De Pere had the misfortune of rolling his mount while leading. He was not injured in the mishap.

Feature Results –

1.     John Zeigler, Sun Prairie, Wis.

2.     Tom Reffner, Rudolph, Wis.

3.     Joe Shear, South Beloit, Ill.

4.     Marv Marzofka, Nekoosa, Wis.

5.     Rich Somers, Steven Point, Wis.

6.     Jim Sauter, Necedah, Wis.

7.     Larry Detjens, Wausau, Wis.

8.     Tony Strupp, Slinger, Wis.

9.     Dick Trickle, Wisconsin Rapids, Wis.

10. Jim Back, Vesper, Wis.

No comments:

Post a Comment