Saturday, June 10, 2023

1981 - Hovinga Scores 'Auto Dealers' Win

Denny Hovinga of Pocahontas, Iowa, is joined by car owner Kevin Mills after winning Auto Dealers Spectacular at Marshalltown Speedway. – Dean Malone Photo

Marshalltown, Iowa (June 10, 1981) – Denny Hovinga of Pocahontas sailed to victory in the Auto Dealers Spectacular at Marshalltown Speedway on Wednesday night.

Hovinga nearly completed the sweep in the $5,000 event but a second-place finish to Bill Rice of Des Moines in the trophy dash prevented that. Earlier, Hovinga won the first heat.

Chasing Hovinga to the finish line in the 40-lap late model feature was Rice, Billy Moyer Jr. of Des Moines, Dan Nesteby of Waterloo, and Rocky Hodges of Des Moines.

Ron Cochran of Des Moines was the second heat winner and Nesteby won the semi-main.

In other action, Arvid Borchers of Marshalltown won the 15-lap street stock feature and Rick Nellis of Fort Dodge won the min-sprint contest.

Results –

Heat #1 – Denny Hovinga, Pocahontas
Heat #2 – Ron Cochran, Marshalltown
Trophy dash – Bill Rice, Des Moines
Semi-main – Dan Nesteby, Waterloo
Feature –
1. Denny Hovinga
2. Bill Rice
3. Billy Moyer Jr., Des Moines
4. Dan Nesteby
5. Rocky Hodges, Des Moines
6. Russ Gladson, Des Moines
7. Dale DeFrance, Marshalltown
8. Lynn Idler, Ionia

No comments:

Post a Comment