Sunday, June 25, 2023

1960 – Stott Wins Badger ‘100’ Before 4,000


Ramo Stott

De Pere, Wis. (June 25, 1960) – Ramo Stott, driving a 1960 Ford convertible, out sped Ernie Derr, last year’s winner, to win the second annual “Badger 100” late model stock car race before a paid crowd of 4,000 Saturday night at the Brown County Fairground track.

Derr, the International Motor Contest Association national champion, and Stott are both from Keokuk, Iowa.

There was no room for error as 13 drivers put on a dazzling display of speed and expert driving on the half-mile dirt track.

Derr, who finished second, drove a 1960 Pontiac. Dick Hutcherson, also from Keokuk, finished third in a 1957 Pontiac.

Stott and Derr were neck and neck for some of the race, but it was a more exciting contest for fourth position between Hutcherson and Mert Williams of Rochester, Minn., before the former moved up to third.

Stott also paced the field in qualifying, timing in at 29.35 seconds.

In the 8-lap Australian Pursuit race, Ken Schultz of Wisconsin Rapids took first over Newt Bartholomew of Carlisle, Iowa. Dick Johnson of St. Paul, Minn., was third.

Joe Dolphy of New Brighton, Minn., won the first 10-lap heat, Mert Williams took the second heat, Don Nather was the third heat winner, and Derr won the fourth heat in a tight 1-2-3 finish with Stott and Hutcherson.

No comments:

Post a Comment