Wednesday, June 21, 2023

1969 – Montgomery Nabs Feature

Dean Montgomery

Des Moines, Iowa (June 21, 1969) – Dean Montgomery of Milan, Ill., led the entire 25 laps of the late model main event on a fast State Fairgrounds track Saturday night for his first feature victory. The sportsman feature, won easily by point leader Don Hoffman of Des Moines, provided most of the excitement for the 6,500 in attendance.

A four-car pileup, resulting when John May’s 1959 Plymouth went into a spin, occurred just seconds after the start of the race. May, however, wasn’t part of the crash.

Marvin Korns’ 1957 Chevy flipped end-over-end and received extensive damage when it knocked down a portion of the south retaining fence.

Slim Doonan and Lynn Komrie, winner of the semi-main event, escaped injuries and refused medical attention.

But it was Joe Merryfield and Korns taken to the Des Moines General Hospital, Merryfield for a possible hand fracture and Korns for observation.

Montgomery’s victory was unchallenged by runner-up Bob Hilmer, the current point leader from Dysart, who had worked his way back from a last-row starting spot, and third-place finisher Darrell Dake of Cedar Rapids.

Montgomery won the first heat while Hilmer won the second. The semi-main winner was John Connolly of Delhi.

Results –

Sportsman –

Trophy dash – Don Hoffman, Des Moines
Heat #1 – Mike Brooks, Knoxville
Heat #2 - Don Hoffman
Semi-main – Lynn Komrie, Van Meter
Feature –
1. Don Hoffman
2. Mike Brooks
3. Larry Embrey, Panora
4. Mike Pinckney, Des Moines
5. Dave Fielder, Des Moines

Late Model –

Heat #1 – Dean Montgomery, Milan, Ill.
Heat #2 – Bob Hilmer, Dysart
Semi-main – John Connolly, Delhi
Feature –
1. Dean Montgomery
2. Bob Hilmer
3. Darrell Dake, Cedar Rapids
4. Gordon Blankenship, Keokuk
5. John Connolly
6. George Barton, Ankeny
7. Stan Stover, Reinbeck
8. Bill McDonough, Cedar Rapids
9. Bill Moyer, Des Moines
10.Roger Dolan, Lisbon

No comments:

Post a Comment