Tuesday, June 20, 2023

1958 – Quality, Not Quantity as Derr Wins


Sioux Falls, S.D. (June 20, 1958) – Quality not quantity was on hand Friday night as IMCA’s touring late model stock car drivers invaded Soo Speedway.

Only seven of the IMCA-sanctioned drivers made an appearance. Luckily, the top drivers in the point standings were on hand. Otherwise, it would’ve been a dismal evening for the large crowd on hand.

Ernie Derr of Keokuk, Iowa, driving a 1957 Pontiac, copped the 100-lap feature on the banked, quarter-mile dirt track. Finishing second was Derr’s brother-in-law, Don White, also of Keokuk, Iowa, driving a 1958 Ford.

Following them were a pair of Harlan, Iowa, drivers, Duane Lund in a ’56 Chevrolet, and Johnny Beauchamp, in a ’57 Chevy.

Bob Burdick of Omaha, Neb., had the feature sacked up in his 1958 Ford until being forced out with front end trouble on the 67th lap while being far out in front of the rest of the field.

Another contender, Darrell Dake of Cedar Rapids, Iowa, shelled his 1957 Chevrolet while running a strong third on lap 54.

In addition, Murray Folsom of Mechanicsville was on hand as billed. The rest of the entry list failed to show.

Promoter Frank Winkley of Auto Racing, Inc., refunded half of the $2 admission to all of the fans in attendance, estimated between 3,000 to 3,500. Winkley explained that he knew no reason why the drivers didn’t appear. All, he said, had signed entry slips promising to be here.

Among the drivers scheduled to appear who not show were Dick Santee, Newt Bartholomew, Bob Hilmer, Lloyd Jorgenson, Chub Liebe, Herb Shannon, Frank Richards, Sonny Gross, Bud Burdick, Bob Potter, Doc Narber, and Les Dykes.

No comments:

Post a Comment