Monday, June 5, 2023

1971 – Donnellson Win to Derr

Ernie Derr

Donnellson, Iowa (June 5, 1971) – Taking an early lead, Ernie Derr of Keokuk, Iowa, held on for a victory in the 50-lap feature event at the IMCA new model races at the Lee County Fairgrounds on Saturday night.

Derr, a 11-time International Motor Contest Association champion, took command on the flat, half-mile oval early in the race when he passed hometown rival Ron Hutcherson and Irv Janey of Cedar Rapids, Iowa, and slowly increased his margin for victory over the other two battling cars.

The accident-free program was staged in front of 4,500 fans, mostly pulling for the Keokuk drivers of Derr, Hutcherson and Gordon Blankenship, who were 20 miles from home.

Janey set fast time in his 1970 Plymouth with a time of 30.05 seconds. Derr was second fastest with a time of 30.38 seconds and Hutcherson toured the big half-mile in 30.54 seconds.

Hutcherson took a lead in the first heat and held on to win with Derr and Janey giving chase. Chuck Wicher of Cedar Rapids, driving Janey’s other car, also a 1970 Plymouth, won the second heat over Vern Mondry of Lake Elmo, Minn., and Bud Wallis of Gardner, Kan.

Hutcherson also score the win in the 5-lap STP trophy dash, holding off Janey and Derr once again.

Blankenship, experiencing steering and handling problems during the trophy dash and heat race, came back to win the 10-lap consolation.

Results –

1. Ernie Derr, Keokuk, Iowa
2. Ron Hutcherson, Keokuk, Iowa
3. Irv Janey, Cedar Rapids, Iowa
4. Gordon Blankenship, Keokuk, Iowa
5. Jerre Wichman, Kansas City
6. Bud Wallis, Gardner, Kan.
7. Chuck Wicher, Cedar Rapids, Iowa
8. Vern Mondry, Lake Elmo, Minn.
9. Thurman Lovejoy, Kansas City
10.Bill Stark, Des Moines
11.Bill Shaner, Waverly, Iowa
12.John Farmer, Sweet Springs, Mo.

No comments:

Post a Comment