Tuesday, May 13, 2014

1973 - Braland winner in Boone opener

Boone, Iowa (May 13, 1973) - Arnie Braland of Boone, walked away with a fistful of money in the season opener at Boone Speedway Saturday night as he captured three of four late model events, while Ernie Jordan of Boone captured both Roadrunner events.
Pushing Braland hard in most of the events was Del McDowall of Ames and John Allinson of Williams.

Braland, driving a 427-powered 1972 Nova, opened the night with the heat race win in a battle with Allinson, who purchased the car formerly driven by Red Dralle, Waterloo, last week.

Braland took the lead with one and one half laps to go for the victory.

McDowell came back to take the trophy dash as he grabbed an early lead and stayed ahead of the field for the rest of the race, with Allinson and Braland battling for second.

In the handicap it was again Braland followed by McDowall who held the lead until Braland took him in the number one turn with four laps to go.

Allinson finished third in the event, and the order of finish - Braland, McDowall and Allinson - was the same in the feature. Braland took the lead on the third lap of the feature for the win.

Only 11 late model cars were on hand for the opener, but provided several battles for places throughout the night. With the purse again a guaranteed $2,000 next week, the field is expected to be larger.

In the Roadrunner division, the field of 11 had some trouble staying right side up as three cars flipped during the evening's racing.

Dick Jones, Boone, was the first to go over. After finishing fifth in the heat race, Jones lost it in the number one turn after the checkered flag had come out and rolled.

In the feature, William Needham Jr., Des Moines, and Frank Pardun, Eagle Grove, tangled at the west end of the track, with both cars going over.

None of the drivers received any serious injuries in the accidents.

Jordan captured the first heat after a duel with Jess Kenemer, Boone, when Kenemer was trapped by a slower car with three laps remaining and Jordan jumped into the lead.

In the feature, Jordan took an early lead and held on for the rest of the route.

Late Model Feature -

1. Arnie Braland, Boone
2. Del McDowall, Ames
3. John Allinson, Williams
4. Larry DeFrance, Marshalltown
5. Chuck Anderson, Marshalltown

Roadrunner Feature -

1. Ernie Jordan, Boone
2. Doug Starbuck, Nevada
3. Gary Dahlberg, Des Moines
4. Chuck Tilley, Boone
5. Keith Thacker, Boone

1 comment:

  1. Where did Ron Adams 33 finish i was sure he won that race along with the championship that year.