Monday, May 5, 2014

1968 - Benny Outlasts Les to Win Toledo 100

Toledo, Ohio (May 5, 1968) Benny Parsons and his 1968 Ford Torino outlasted Les Snow and his 1967 Plymouth Hemi two win Sunday afternoons 100 lap main event for ARCA new cars on the Toledo Speedway high banked half-mile asphalt oval.

Parsons started on the pole by virtue of his record-breaking 19.11 second time trial. The old mark, 19.59 seconds, was set in 1966 by Iggy Katona and was also broken by Katona, Snow and Andy Hampton as well as Parsons.

Then he led for all but 11 laps when snow was in control. The two battled it out until lap 74 when the right rear tire on Snow's car failed. Les stayed in the race, writing on the rim for 15 laps, until the rear end also went out.

Parsons coasted during the final 20 laps and second-place finisher Andy Hampton was able to trim Benny's one lap lead to less than one third lap. Although he spun out on the ninth lap, Herb Shannon finished a strong third in his 1966 Plymouth, one lap behind the leaders.

Joy Fair was for in his 1966 Ford with Iggy Katona fifth in his 1967 Dodge Charger.

Results -

1. Benny Parson
2. Andy Hampton
3. Herb Shannon
4. Joy Fair
5. Iggy Katona
6. Blaine Kaufman
7. Jim Clarke
8. Larry Clemons
9. Paul Wensink
10. Bill Lemon
11. Les Snow
12. John Early
13. Dave Dayton
14. Homer Newland
15. Wayne Trinkle
16. Bill Clemons
17. Bill Maston
18. Tom Gale
19. Bill Jackson
20. Dorus Wisecarver
21. Jim Nusbaum
22. Joe Pemberton
23. Leon VanAtta
24. Red Lawrence
25. Danny Byrd
26. Ed Richardville

No comments:

Post a Comment