Thursday, May 23, 2013

This Week in Racing History – 1973

May 23 – Ed Sanger of Waterloo, Iowa, became the third super stock winner of the season at the Southern Iowa Fairgrounds in Oskaloosa on Wednesday night. Sanger showed his championship form by taking the top spot on the first lap and leading all 25 laps for the victory. Darrell Dake of Cedar Rapids, Iowa, chased the yellow #95 but was never able to catch the speedster.  John Moss of Iowa City, Iowa, would finish a distant third followed by Bob Bonzer of Liscomb, Iowa, and George Barton of Ankeny, Iowa. Jim Brown of Martinsburg, Iowa, scored his third straight feature victory in the sportsman division.

May 25 – Larry Phillips held off repeated challenges from veteran Willie Crane and narrowly won the “Commerce 125” late model stock car race at Fairgrounds Speedway in Springfield, Mo., on Friday night. Phillips powered his 1969 Chevelle to the lead on lap 25 with Crane following right behind. Phillips’ car proved strong in the straight-aways but Crane’s 1972 Pontiac handled better through the turns. Crane caught Phillips on several occasions and would pull even with him but could never muster a pass. Phillips would take the checkers only a couple of car lengths ahead of Crane. Frankie Davis took third, with Dean Roper in fourth and Fred Tiede in fifth.
May 25 – Del McDowell of Ames, Iowa, took the lead on the second lap and went on to win the 20-lap super stock feature at Boone (Iowa) Speedway on Friday night. Arnie Braland of Boone, Iowa, winner of the last two features, developed clutch problems early in the main event and was never a factor. Arlo Dorenbush of Boone would finish second behind McDowell followed by Mike Majors, also of Boone. Dale DeFrance of Marshalltown, Iowa, would end up in fourth and Larry Jackson of Des Moines, Iowa, was fifth.
May 25 – Jim Wyman of Griswold, Iowa, showed the crowd at Shelby County Speedway in Harlan, Iowa, why he was the defending late model track champion as he took the early lead in the “A” feature and ran away from the rest of the pack in an easy victory. Wyman was never seriously challenged by the strong field of contestants that included second place finisher Jack Golder of Hooper, Neb., Paul Zdan and Don Schlondorf, and Ed Janisch, all of Omaha, Neb.
May 25 – Darrell Dake of Cedar Rapids, Iowa, swept the late model program at Hawkeye Downs Speedway in Cedar Rapids on Friday night. Dake’s victories came in the 25-lap feature, Australian Pursuit, and first heat. Dake was also the fast qualifier on the evening, touring the half-mile in 24.84 seconds. Pokey West of West Chester, Iowa, won the consolation event and other heat wins went to Verlin Eaker of Cedar Rapids and Ed Sanger of Waterloo, Iowa.
May 25 – Wayne Huntley of Hastings, Neb., powered his newly built 1969 Camaro to a feature victory at the Speed Bowl in Red Cloud, Neb., on Friday night. Huntley swapped the lead with Craig Lockhart of Red Cloud several times before finally securing the top spot with only a few circuits left. Lockhart would spin in the final lap allowing Kent Tucker of Aurora, Neb., and Al Humphrey of Giltner, Neb., to scoot by for second and third place respectively.
May 25 – Ray Guss of Milan, Ill., took the 25-lap late model feature on a slick and chilly evening at the Mississippi Valley Fairgrounds in Davenport, Iowa. Ron Weedon of Pleasant Valley, Iowa would take runner-up honors while Mike Niffenegger of Kalona, Iowa, Irv Janey of Cedar Rapids, Iowa, and Duane Steffe of Colona, Ill., would round out the top five. 
May 25 – Denny Hovinga, the popular driver from Laurens, Iowa, almost made a clean sweep of the late model program at the Kossuth Speedway in Algona, Iowa, on Friday night.  Hovinga won the trophy dash, first heat and 25-lap feature. Bob Lewerke of Britt, Iowa, was fast qualifier on the evening, clocking in 19.27 seconds. Bob Shryock of Estherville, Iowa, would finish second to Hovinga in the main event followed by Russ Trulson of Britt, Bruce Sommerfeld of Fort Dodge, Iowa, and Jack Piper of Mason City, Iowa.
May 26 – Dick Gaines of Floyd Knobs, Ind., would win the rain-shortened “Little 500” at Sun Valley Speedway in Anderson, Ind., on Saturday night. Gaines would take the back seat to Jerry Richer of Forest Lake, Minn., in the beginning stages of the long-distance contest but would grab the lead on lap 11 and never relinquish for the remainder of the race, which was halted on lap 282 due to heavy rains. Bobby Black, who finished second, was four laps behind the winner. Gaines’ earnings were approximately $6,000 including the first place money of $4,000 in silver dollars and lap money.
May 26 – Lyle Nabbefeldt of Nekoosa, Wis., was killed Saturday evening during time trials at Dell Motor Speedway in Wisconsin Dells, Wis. Nabbefeldt was the 22nd car to qualify and was his first run for the night. He hit the wall head on in turn one, with the car climbing the wall and taking out the fence. Jim Back of Vesper, Wis., would set a new track record of 14.411 seconds and Dick Trickle of Wisconsin Rapids, Wis., would win the feature later that evening.
May 26 – The Bureau County Fairgrounds in Princeton, Ill., opened their gates to the UARA midgets for the first “full-sized” midget show to be seen on the half-mile flat dirt circuit. Newt White of Lockport Ill., driving the George Holterman Chevy, would win the 25-lap feature after battling John Tenney of Battle Creek, Mich., for much of the race. Danny Frye Jr. of St. Louis, Mo., would take third followed by fast qualifier Rich Vogler of Glen Ellyn, Ill., and Elton Porter of Houston, Tex.
May 28 – Ron Carlson of Duluth, Minn., captured the 20-lap sprint car main event, edging out Cliff Kwadahl, also of Duluth, by only a few feet in Midwest Sprintcar Association (MSA) action in Brainerd, Minn., on Monday night. Bill Dollansky of Princeton, Minn., led the first 16 laps before spinning out and having to restart at the rear of the pack. Dick Kelly of St. Paul would claim third followed by Dennis Olson of Graham Minn., and Don Mack of East Grand Forks, Minn. Polesitter John Stevenson of St. Paul, Minn., flipped his racer on the first lap but escaped unharmed.
May 28 – Joe Shear of South Beloit, Ill., made it three wins in a row, as he drove his ’73 Camaro to the Memorial Day 50-lap championship at Rockford (Ill.) Speedway. Shear, who started 18th in the 28-car field, methodically made his way to the front of the field, finally getting around race leader Dave Watson of Beloit, Wis., on backstretch of the final lap. Watson would settle for second while Lee Schuler of Lockport, Ill., would finish third. Bob Anzinger of McHenry, Ill., would take fourth and Vaughn Gerke of South Beloit, Ill., grabbed fifth. 
May 28 – The North Iowa Speedway in Mason City, Iowa, was the only track in the area not postponed by rain so all of the top drivers from northern Iowa and southern Minnesota showed up to do battle for the Memorial Day special. When the dust cleared, it was Tom Bartholomew, a 22-year-old upstart from Waterloo, Iowa, who took home the first place money. It was Bartholomew’s first trip to the North Iowa facility and only his second career late model victory. He took the lead from Wendell Kuehn of Rochester, Minn., on lap 3 of the main event and then fought off the challenges of Dave Bjorge of Austin, Minn., and Willie Richardson of Hayfield, Minn., for the remainder of the 25-lap contest.
May 29 – Karl Sanger of Waterloo, Iowa, bested his brother Ed Sanger, also of Waterloo, in the late model feature and trophy dash on Tuesday night. Jack Mitchell of Cedar Falls, Iowa, would finish third in the feature after winning the second heat. Bill Barthelmes of Troy Mills, Iowa, the third heat winner, would finish fourth in the feature followed by Red Dralle of Evansdale, Iowa.

No comments:

Post a Comment