Monday, April 8, 2013

1960 – Derr sets record in Pelican 300

Shreveport, La. (April 8, 1960) - The IMCA late model stock cars kicked off the 1960 season at Shreveport with a whopping crowd of 9,638 fans watching Ernie Derr romp into the winner’s circle. Derr finished 59 seconds ahead of Ramo Stott.

Derr established a new IMCA World’s record for the 250-lapper of 2 hours, 2 minutes to erase the old mark set by Johnny Beauchamp in 1956 at the Minnesota State Fair.
The Pelican 300 was a heartbreaker for early leaders Sonny Morgan, Ramo Stott, Darrell Dake and Dick Hutcherson as the hard pace was evident with breakdowns and multiple pit stops.
Dake, who led at 100 laps, was the victim of fan belt trouble, while Sonny Morgan, who blew an engine in his own ’59 Chevrolet in preliminaries, was forced out of action at the wheel of Jerry McDonald’s ride with a blown engine.
The Shreveport opener crowd was the second largest in history exceeded only by the 1959 crowd of 10,000 plus.
Results – 

1. Ernie Derr
2. Ramo Stott
3. Newt Bartholomew
4. Royce Whitlock
5. Art Brady
6. Dick Hutcherson
7. Bill Worthy
8. Dub Rollins
9. Darrell Dake
10. Eddie Harrow
11. Gerry Harrison
12. Wayne Lee
13. Phil Cronin
14. Herb Shannon
15. Red Dowdy
16. Sonny Morgan

1 comment:

  1. This is off topic, but we have an old photograph from a 1925 race at then, Frontier Park (now Hawkeye downs) and wonder where one might find a list of who the racers might be. Thank you for any help...