Sunday, September 26, 2010

This Week in History

1994 - Kevin Roderick of Palos Park, Ill., bested a stellar field of late models to win the Miller Genuine Draft 200 at Santa Fe Speedway in Hinsdale, Ill., on Sunday, September 25th. Roderick, who posted the second fastest qualifying time, edged Tom Pauley, Kevin Gundaker, John Provenzano and Bob Pohlman Jr., to take the $13,000 top prize. Roderick held the lead for the balance of the first half of the race. After the mandatory pit stop to re-fuel, Provenzano, from Somonauk, Ill., jumped out to the lead and looked to be a sure winner with 20 circuits to go until the nose of the car came into contact with his right front wheel, preventing him from turning correctly. Roderick blew past Provenzano and led the remaining laps to seal the deal.

1988 - Mike Frieden of Swisher, Iowa captured the 35-lap IMCA modified feature in the 2nd Annual Fall Challenge at the Southern Iowa Speedway in Oskaloosa, Iowa, on September 24. Frieden started on the inside second row, but moved quickly to the front of the 33-car field as he won over Merv Chandler of Cedar Rapids, Mark Noble of Blooming Prairie, Minn., Denny Banks of Washington and Rick Wages of Davenport. In support action, Bob "Gabby" Hayes of Ottumwa, Iowa captured the 20-lap IMCA stock car feature over Dean Hughes of Oskaloosa and Randy Harter of Jefferson.

1982 - After three consecutive second place finishes, Joe Shear of Beloit, Wis., won the 200-lap late model feature at the 17th annual National Short Track Championships at Rockford Speedway on Sunday afternoon, September 26. Shear also won in 1972, 1974 and 1975. Driving his United Telephone-sponsored 1981 Camaro, the popular Shear took the lead on the 88th lap, going around Jim Sauter of Necedah, Wis., and then held off second half challenges from both Sauter and Dave Watson of Milton, Wis., before cruising to the win. John Ziegler of Madison, Wis., Ted Musgrave of Grand Marsh, Wis., Watson and Al Schill of Franklin, Wis., rounded out the top five finishers.

1976 - Johnny Johnson of Hermantown, Minn., surged ahead of pole sitter Leon Plank of Mondovi, Wis., on the opening circuit and led the rest of the way to capture the 50-lap finale of both the Wisconsin Dirt Track Championship Series and International Late Model Championship (ILMC) Series at Ashland Raceways on September 26. Sharing the spotlight with Johnson was Johnny Jones and Tom Nesbitt, both of Thunder Bay, Ont. Despite leading every lap in his drive to the $1,200 first place prize, Johnson's victory was anything but easy. Plank stayed directly behind Johnson for the duration of the 50-lap main event and pulled along the front runner on numerous occasions. Red Steffen of Eau Claire, Wis., took third followed by Jones and Bill Goeden of Kewaskum, Wis. By virtue of his fourth place finish, Jones wrapped up the driving crown for the Wisconsin Dirt Track Championships Series and gained a share of the ILMC title with Nesbitt, who placed eighth in Sunday afternoon's headliner.

No comments:

Post a Comment