Friday, September 17, 2010

This Week in History

1994 - Steve Kosiski of Omaha, Neb., passed the ailing machine of Willy Kraft of Lakefield, Minn., on lap 81 and went to score his fourth career Yankee Dirt Track Classic victory at Farley Speedway on Saturday, September 17th. Kosiski's first-place prize, not counting the 19 laps he led, totaled $6,500. Following Kosiski across the line was Ray Guss Jr. of Milan, Ill., previous leader (laps 9 - 71) Jeff Aikey of Cedar Falls, Iowa, Steve Boley of West Liberty, Iowa and Terry Ryan of Davenport, Iowa. Seventy-seven late models, believed to be a Busch All-Star Tour record for entries, signed in for competition.

1988 - Johnny Ziegler of Madison, Wis., held off Scott Hansen of Green Bay and Rich Bickle Jr., of Edgerton, Wis., to win the 303-lap NASCAR/ARTGO Challenge Cup Series feature at the 23rd Annual National Short Track Championships at Rockford Speedway on Sunday afternoon, September 18. Ziegler took home an ARTGO Record $11,814 for his win, which was co-sanctioned by NASCAR. Hansen, Bickle, Tom Carlson and Steve Carlson, both of Lacrosse, Wis., trailed Ziegler in the event, which was interrupted by a 36-minute rain delay in the closing circuits.

1982 - Ron Hekkema of Renselaer, Ind., avoided the problems other drivers had and drove to victory in the 100-lap late model feature at Kankakee Fairgrounds Speedway on Saturday, September 18th. Hekkema had the early lead only to surrender it to Paul Shafer of Highland, Ind., on lap 13. Shafer held the point until the 24th go-round and lost an axle giving the lead back to Hekkema. Dick Potts of Morocco, Ind., wrestled the lead away on the 49th circuit only to be victimized by a flat tire 10 laps later. Hekkema inherited the lead again and led the rest of the way to grab the $1,200 first prize.

1977 - Fred Horn of Marion, Iowa, won the 5th Annual Stock Car Futurity at the Hamilton County Fairgrounds in Webster City, Iowa, on Saturday, September 17th. Horn set fast time (23.02) and started on the pole but it was Karl Sanger of Waterloo, Iowa who jumped out front first. Sanger got too high in turns one and two on lap nine allowing Horn to slip by for the lead. Horn then fought off a gallant charge by Estherville, Iowa's Bob Shryock for the remaining 20 laps. Horn earned $1,000 for the victory while Shryock settled for second and $750. Kenny Farrell, Roger Klingfus and Denny Osborn finished out the top five.

No comments:

Post a Comment