Saturday, April 13, 2024

1985 - Miller Opens ASA Season with Queen City 250 Win

Butch Miller won the ASA Racing Series’ Ford Taurus 250 at Queen City Speedway. Making the trophy presentation to Miller are Missy Balsbaugh (left) and Trish Barton. – Don Thies Photo

West Chester, Ohio (April 15, 1986) – Butch Miller of Coopersville, Mich., likes two-groove racetracks and Queen City Speedway was especially to his liking Sunday afternoon as he held off Mark Martin in the season-opening Ford Taurus 250, an ASA Racing Series stock car event.

Both were in the hunt for the entire race but when it came down to the end, Martin and his Ford couldn’t catch Miller and his Chevrolet.

“It was a two-groove track today,” Miller told the standing-room-only crowd. “The track got a little slick and that made it ideal for racing.”

For the last 20 laps, though, all Miller saw in his rear view mirror was the front bumper of Martin’s car, getting closer and closer. Despite losing his power steering just 60 laps into the race and fighting engine oiling system woes, Martin, the three-time ASA champion, was coming on strong to challenge for the lead.

“I knew I could catch him,” Martin said. “I just didn’t think I could pass him.”

Martin’s presence was felt.

“You bet I was worried about him. I didn’t need a 255-lap race,” Miller added.

Another 20 laps and perhaps another driver would have been involved in the battle. ASA fan favorite Tom Jones of Northbrook, Ill., turned in a sparkling performance to take third place, his highest ASA finish in nearly three years.

Following the top three were a host of drivers who helped make the long-distance grind one of the most competitive Queen City races in years. A total of six different drivers led laps with 13 lead changes during the 250-lap event.

Results –

1. Butch Miller
2. Mark Martin
3. Tom Jones
4. Dick Trickle
5. Mike Eddy
6. Mark Malcuit
7. Russ Urlin
8. Harold Fair
9. Bill Stephenson
10.Dave Jackson
11.Gary St. Amant
12.John Wilson
13.Kenny Wallace
14.Dave Jensen
15.Ken Lund
16.Kent Stauffer
17.Bob Senneker
18.Gene Harsch
19.Grant Wilson
20.Ray Fullen

No comments:

Post a Comment