Friday, April 26, 2024

1970 – Droste is Big Winner at Vinton

LaVern "Red" Droste

Vinton, Iowa (April 26, 1970) – Hard-charging Red Droste of Waterloo, Iowa, made a clean sweep of the racing action to take the Spring Championship at the Benton County Fairgrounds on Sunday afternoon.

Droste won the third heat and then charged from his tenth starting position in the 25-lap feature to snare the title.

Ed Sanger of Waterloo took the early lead in the main event and held it until Curt Hansen charged by Sanger on lap 10. Sanger would be forced out of the running on lap 16 with mechanical issues.

Droste would methodically work his way through the pack and take over the second spot by lap 13. Droste would power by Hansen on lap 19 and then withstand several challenges from the Dike, Iowa, youngster for the remaining six circuits.

Hansen hung on for second while Glen Martin of Independence, Iowa, took third. Skip Kennedy of Dubuque, Iowa and Bill Barthelmes of Walker, Iowa, rounded out the top-five.

Sanger, Hansen and Droste won heat races while Skip Kennedy was the semi-main winner. Dick Oldham of Des Moines won the consolation.

Results –

Heat #1 – Ed Sanger, Waterloo, Iowa
Heat #2 – Curt Hansen, Dike, Iowa
Heat #3 – Red Droste, Waterloo, Iowa
Semi-main – Skip Kennedy, Dubuque, Iowa
Consolation – Dick Oldham, Des Moines
Feature –
1. Red Droste
2. Curt Hansen
3. Glen Martin, Independence, Iowa
4. Skip Kennedy
5. Bill Barthelmes, Walker, Iowa
6. Ed Brown, Dubuque, Iowa
7. George Barton, Ankeny, Iowa
8. Paul Uhlenberg, Garwin, Iowa
9. A.E. Mayner, Winthrop, Iowa
10.Jim Havill, New Liberty, Iowa

No comments:

Post a Comment