Wednesday, April 10, 2024

1983 -Trickle Best at Rockford in ARTGO Lidlifter


Dick Trickle won ARTGO Racing’s Spring Classic at Rockford Speedway. – Weber Brothers Photo

By Stan Kalwasinski

Rockford, Ill. (April 10, 1983) – Dick Trickle highlighted a cold, cloudy afternoon at Rockford Speedway by kicking off ARTGO Racing’s ninth season with a victory in the sixth annual Spring Classic 83-lap late model feature.

“I think I slid into this one. If it’s your day, it’s your day,” Trickle commented following the race, which saw several contenders including Joe Shear, ARTGO champ Jim Sauter and last year’s Spring Classic winner Al Schill sidelined as a result of a red-flag producing multi-car crash on lap 4.

Outside front row starter Tom Musgrave jumped polesitter Joe Shear at the drop of the green to grab the early lead.

Shear fell in behind Musgrave and was challenging for the top spot when the engine in his mount blew entering the third turn on the fourth circuit. Drivers in the closely bunched pack behind Shear found themselves out of control when they hit the slippery, oiled surface.

Sauter, who was running sixth after three laps, slammed hard into the pit entrance wall, standing his Firebird on its nose. Another car rammed Sauter, sending the Necedah, Wis., pilot for a wild ride before his car came to a rest on it’s roof.

Rescue workers quickly freed Sauter, who walked away under how own power. He was taken to a nearby hospital where he was treated and released.

Trickle, Mel Walen, Tony Izzo, Jim Weber, Steve Burgess, Burt Weitemeyer, Schill and Jay Sauter were also involved in the mishap with Shear, Jim Sauter, Schill, Izzo, and Walen unable to answer the call for the immediate restart.

Musgrave continued to set the pace when the action resumed and despite three yellow flags, continued to lead at the event’s midpoint followed closely by Trickle, Conrad Morgan, and Dave Weltmeyer.

The persistent Trickle, however, annexed the lead for good by slipping under Musgrave on lap 55. Weltmeyer would overhaul Morgan on the 60th circuit, and them power past Musgrave 11 laps later to take over second, where he finished, four-car-lengths behind Trickle. Musgrave settled for third followed by Morgan and Steve Burgess.

Results –

1. Dick Trickle, Wisconsin Rapids, Wis.
2. Dave Weltmeyer, Harvey
3. Tom Musgrave, Mundelein
4. Conrad Morgan, Dousman, Wis.
5. Steve Burgess, Eau Claire, Wis.
6. Don Leach, Beloit, Wis.
7. Jim Helland, Newark
8. Burt Weitemeyer, Lansing
9. Fred Malecki, South Bend, Ind.
10.Bob Abitz, Freedom, Wis.
11.Tony Izzo, Bridgeview
12.Terry Weatherford, Byron
13.Spike Lindley, Tomah, Wis.
14.Tracy Schuler, Lockport
15.Terry Baldry, Omro, Wis.

No comments:

Post a Comment