Friday, April 19, 2024

1968 – Ohioan Tops Heidelberg Sprints

Larry Dickson

Heidelberg, Penn. (April 19, 1968) – Larry Dickson, who arrived here as one of the hottest drivers on the United States Auto Club sprint car circuit, left the same way after he won the 30-lap main event at Heidelberg Speedway on Friday night.

The Marietta, Ohio, driver started on the pole position and led from start to finish. Dickson’s winning time was 10 minutes and 15.18 seconds.

The only serious challenge to Dickson was offered by Sonny Ates of Sellersburg, Ind., who moved into the runner-up spot in the early going and remained a car-length behind as the duo circled the half-mile track.

Mike Mosley of Los Angeles, who started eighth, finished third, heading a large group of cars about half a lap back from Dickson and Ates.

Rollie Beale of Toledo, Ohio, was fourth followed by Bob Pratt of Union City, Ind., rounding out the top five finishers.

Dickson show in time trials he would be the man to beat when he turned in the fastest qualifying time – 19.60 seconds. He followed up with a victory in the first heat for the fast cars, then sat back to await the feature.

Lee Robinson of Spring Valley, Calif., Beale, Tom Bigelow of Whitewater, Wis., and Jerry Poland of New Carlisle, Ohio, won the other preliminary races.

Qualifying started almost two hours late because of a power outage and other problems, causing the feature to be completed shortly after midnight.

Results –

1. Larry Dickson, Marietta, Ohio
2. Sonny Ates, Sellersburg, Ind.
3. Mike Mosley, Los Angeles
4. Rollie Beale, Toledo, Ohio
5. Bob Pratt, Union City, Ind.
6. Bill Puterbaugh, Roxana, Ill.
7. Lee Robinson, Spring Valley, Calif.
8. Bud Tingelstad, Indianapolis
9. Wib Spaulding, Granite City, Ill.
10.Tom Bigelow, Whitewater, Wis.

No comments:

Post a Comment