Thursday, October 26, 2023

1975 – Smith is Winner in IMCA

Robert Smith

Shreveport, La. (October 26, 1975) – Twenty-one-year-old Robert Smith racked up his ninth feature win of the season but his first-ever in International Motor Contest Association sprint car competition at State Fair Speedway on Sunday.

The Tampa, Fla., youngster also won the second heat race and placed third in the trophy dash.

Skip Manning of Bogalusa came from last place to take the checkered flag in the first heat. Anning was the only Louisiana entry in Sunday’s competition. He also finished third in the feature and fourth in the trophy dash.

John Henson of Huntington, W.Va., edged out Bill Utz of Sedalia, Mo., to win the third heat in a spectacular race. But Henson would have to close shop early when he blew his 350 cubic inch Chevrolet on the first lap of the trophy dash. The car, built by Dave McPherson, was also driven by Sam Sessions to win the 1972 USAC national championship.

Ralph Parkinson of Kansas City, Mo., was the trophy dash winner.

With his fifth-place finish in the feature, Bill Utz was named the IMCA national sprint car champion for the second consecutive year.

Jan Opperman, Jim McElreath, and several other top drivers had entered the weekend competition, they went on to Birmingham, Ala., after the races were rained out on Saturday and rain was forecast for all day on Sunday.

Results –

1. Robert Smith, Tampa, Fla.
2. Ralph Parkinson, Kansas City, Mo.
3. Skip Manning, Bogalusa, La.
4. Bobby Marshall, Dallas, Tex.
5. Bill Utz, Sedalia, Mo.
6. Jerry Stone, Wichita, Kan.
7. Wayne McNally, Dallas, Tex.
8. John Fry, Dallas, Tex.
9. Sidney Clark, Garland, Tex.
10.Dick Standridge, Springfield, Ill.
11.Billy Ray Peters, Dallas, Tex.
12.Gene Kester, Odessa, Mo.
13.Terry Moore, Mesquite, Tex.
14.Phil Howe, Jacksonville, Ill.

No comments:

Post a Comment