Wednesday, October 4, 2023

1970 - Reffner Captures Checkered Flag in Oktoberfest 200

West Salem, Wis. (October 4, 1970) – Tom Reffner of Rudolph, Wis., piloted his 1969 Torino to first place in the Oktoberfest 200-lap race at the La Crosse Interstate Speedway on Sunday afternoon.

Reffner’s winning effort earned him a $1,000 check for first place plus $341 in lap money. Marv Marzofka of Nekoosa held the lead for the first 37 laps while Jim Sauter of Necedah and Jim Back of Vesper were in second and third respectively.

Reffner was slightly off the pace and in fourth.

On the 38th trip around the half-mile oval Sauter and Back both passed Marzofka’s ’69 Torino. However, on the 48th lap Sauter and Back both tried to avoid an accident in the number three turn and crashed into the concrete retaining wall. Both cars were out of the race and Marzofka recaptured the lead.

Reffner kept at his steady pace in second place and overtook Marzofka on the 107th lap. From there on in it was Reffner all the way.

Marzofka was plagued by overheating problems and had to make frequent pit stops. He eventually finished in 16th place. Marzofka held first place for 95 laps to earn him $308 in lap money.

Following Reffner in the winning circle were Rich Somers of Stevens Point, in second, driving a '69 Torino; John McNamara of Baraboo, third, in a ’64 Comet; Bill Mueller, Shakopee, Minn., fourth, in a ’70 Plymouth; and Dennis Sobkowiak, La Crosse, fifth, in a ’65 Plymouth.

Sixty-five cars timed in and the crowd of about 4,000 race fans saw 17 of the top 33 cars entered in the big race finish.

Results –

1. Tom Reffner
2. Rich Somers
3. John McNamara
4. Bill Mueller
5. Dennis Sobkowiak
6. Kato Theisen
7. Buck Linhart
8. John Scott
9. Everett Foxx
10.Harold Mueller
11.Bill Scherer
12.Ed Nichols
13.Larry Anderson
14.Roy Schmidtke
15.Larry Sparks
16.Marv Marzofka
17.John Brinkman
18.Pete Mahlum
19.Bob Agena
20.George Thornton
21.Benny Olson
22.Mike Murgic
23.Ron Beyer
24.Roy Garr
25.Dale Kranz
26.Jim Back
27.Jim Sauter
28.Larry Detjens
29.Bill Wirtx
30.Darrell Busch
31.Homer Spink
32.Del Trusch
33.Jack Bramella

No comments:

Post a Comment