Friday, May 26, 2023

1984 – Trickle Overall Winner in ARTGO Chicagoland

Dick Trickle took overall honors in the Chicagoland Showdown at Illiana Motor Speedway. – Photo by Andy Grod

By Stan Kalwasinski

Schererville, Ind. (May 26, 1984) – Wisconsin’s Dick Trickle was the overall winner in the ASA-ARTGO Challenge Series Chicagoland Showdown late model event at the Illiana Motor Speedway on Saturday night.

The fifth annual running of the Showdown event saw Trickle and Frank Gawlinski share victory honors in twin 50-lap feature competition. Trickle’s overall title makes the score in the annual Chicagoland battle Wisconsin drivers three, Chicago-area pilots two.

Gawlinski, the defending Showdown champion, wheeled to victory in the opening 50-lapper. The Lynwood, Ill., driver recorded his first Challenge Series win of the season, defeating Trickle by little more than a car length at the checkers. Rounding out the top five were Mark Martin, Bobby Dotter, and Burt Weitemeyer.

Trickle, the four-time ARTGO champion, came back to capture the second 50. The Wisconsin Rapids racer, who currently leads the Challenge Series point standings, nailed down his second feature win of the season.

Holding about a four-car-length lead at the checkered flag, Trickle bested Mel Walen, Scott Hansen, Larry Schuler, and Joe Shear.

Results –

Feature #1 –

1. Frank Gawlinski, Lynwood, Ill.
2. Dick Trickle, Wisconsin Rapids, Wis.
3. Mark Martin, Batesville, Ark.
4. Bobby Dotter, Chicago
5. Burt Weitemeyer, Lansing, Ill.
6. Joe Shear, Beloit, Wis.
7. Mel Walen, Shakopee, Minn.
8. Rich Bickle Jr., Edgerton, Wis.
9. Al Schill, Franklin, Wis.
10.Scott Hansen, Green Bay, Wis.

Feature #2 –

1. Dick Trickle
2. Mel Walen
3. Scott Hansen
4. Larry Schuler, Lockport, Ill.
5. Joe Shear
6. Tom Jones, Northbrook, Ill.
7. Bobby Dotter
8. Steve Burgess, Eau Claire, Wis.
9. Rich Bickle Jr.
10.Mike Kelly, Vulcan, Mich.

No comments:

Post a Comment