Friday, May 19, 2023

1979 - Swindell Bags Indy WoO Go

Sammy Swindell

Indianapolis, Ind. (May 19, 1979) – Sammy Swindell won the 35-lap feature to claim overall first place honors in Saturday night’s World of Outlaws sprint car program at the Indiana State Fairgrounds.

Ron Shuman won the first of two scheduled 33-lap features, but a four-hour rain delay which occurred after Shuman’s triumph, necessitated the cancellation of the second 33-lapper on the one-mile dirt oval. The finale, which was originally slated to be contested at a distance of 34 laps, was then lengthened to 35.

Swindell’s victory earned him a $4,800 share of the event’s total purse of $20,000.

Rick Ferkel followed Swindell to the finish line in the 35-lap headliner. Roger Rager placed third with Lee Osborne in fourth and Kerry Norris fifth.

Swindell averaged 100.89 miles per hour in posting his win, despite two cautions periods for minor incidents.

Shuman crossed the finish line ahead of Lealand McSpadden, Dub May, Lee James, and Johnny Anderson in the 33-lap chase. Despite one yellow flag, Shuman averaged 102.59 miles per hour, only 2 miles per hour slower than Dub May’s fast qualifying lap of 104.556 mile per hour, which topped the field in time trials.

Results –

35-lap Feature –

1. Sammy Swindell
2. Rick Ferkel
3. Roger Rager
4. Lee Osborne
5. Kerry Norris
6. Jerry Stone
7. Lee James
8. Ron Shuman
9. Dub May
10.Steve Craft
11.Shane Carson
12.Mike Johnson
13.Lealand McSpadden
14.Danny Frye Jr.
15.Steve Kinser
16.Doug Wolfgang
17.Gary Grissom
18.Eddie Leavitt
19.Bob East
20.Johnny Anderson
21.Pancho Carter
22.Bobby Allen
23.Danny Smith
24.Greg Staab
25.Jack Hewitt
26.Allen Barr

33-lap Feature –

1. Ron Shuman
2. Lealand McSpadden
3. Dub May
4. Lee James
5. Johnny Anderson
6. Eddie Leavitt
7. Danny Frye Jr.
8. Jerry Stone
9. Shane Carson
10.Bob Christian
11.Doug Wolfgang
12.Jerry Nemire
13.Jim Lipkey
14.Johnny Parsons
15.Allen Barr

No comments:

Post a Comment