Wednesday, May 31, 2023

1975 - Last Lap Victory for Osborn at Independence

Denny Osborn of Cedar Falls, who started near the rear of the field, captured the late model feature on the last lap at Independence Motor Speedway. Track promoter Vern Weber offers the checkered flag to Osborn. – Mike Chapman Photo

Independence, Iowa (May 31, 1975) – A 19th lap restart cost Duane Van Deest of Grundy Center the late model feature at the Independence Motor Speedway on Saturday night after building up a comfortable lead at that point.

Denny Osborn of Cedar Falls nipped Van Deest in the final turn coming around for the checkered flag to take the win after starting 16th in the field of 18 cars.

Van Deest moved up from the sportsman ranks just this year.

Tom Bartholomew of Waterloo captured the B-semi while Jack Mitchell of Cedar Falls got around Tom Fitzpatrick of Evansdale on the last lap to take the checkers in the A-semi.

Dave Bentley of Fairbanks led the first 11 laps of the 12-lap consolation as Bob Hesse of Waterloo got by Bentley on the last lap to take the win.

Heat winner were Dr. Al Mayner of Winthrop, Mitchell, and Bill Barthelmes of Troy Mills.

John Weers of Readlyn won the sportsman feature.

Results –

Heat #1 – Al Mayner, Winthrop
Heat #2 – Jack Mitchell, Cedar Falls
Heat #3 – Bill Barthelmes, Troy Mills
B-semi – Tom Bartholomew, Waterloo
A-semi – Jack Mitchell
Consolation – Bob Hesse, Waterloo
Feature –
1. Denny Osborn, Cedar Falls
2. Duane Van Deest, Grundy Center
3. Al Mayner
4. Red Dralle, Evansdale
5. Glen Martin, Independence
6. Roger Klingfus, Waterloo
7. Darrell Sells, Waverly

No comments:

Post a Comment