Thursday, April 27, 2023

1984 – Wolfgang Wins NSCA Sprint Main at West Liberty

Doug Wolfgang

By Jeff Broeg

West Liberty, Iowa (April 27, 1984) – Bobby Davis Jr. may have taken the checkered flag first, but it was Doug Wolfgang who claimed the top prize in the National Speedways Contest Association winged sprint car feature at West Liberty Raceway on Friday night.

The sprint car feature got off to a rocky start when fast qualifier Tim Green and T.J. Giddings tangled in the second turn, with both drivers taking some hard rolls. Neither driver was injured but both cars were sidelined.

Danny Smith of Hendersonville, Tenn., sped to the lead on the restart and looked comfortable in that position. As Smith began to close on slower traffic, Wolfgang made some breathtaking moves through lapped cars to get by Smith on lap 11. Davis also managed his way around Smith and gave chase to Wolfgang.

The field tightened on lap 19 when the caution came out for Randy Smith of Norwalk, whose ride had caught fire down the front stretch. Smith scrambled out of his car uninjured.

With six laps remaining and a single file restart, Davis was looking for a jump on Wolfgang, and that he did. When the green flag flew, Davis had already zipped past the leader on the outside coming out of turn four.

Wolfgang tried desperately to retain the lead, but Davis shook loose in traffic to take the apparent victory. But the win was later given to Wolfgang after some post-race discussion and NSCA officials penalized Davis one position for jumping on the restart.

Danny Smith finished third followed by Rocky Hodges of Des Moines and Cliff Woodward of Kearney, Mo.

Results –

Time trials – Tim Green, Carmichael, Calif.
Heat #1 – Doug Wolfgang, Sioux Falls, S.D.
Heat #2 – Bobby Davis Jr., Memphis, Tenn.
Heat #3 – Tim Green
Feature –
1. Doug Wolfgang
2. Bobby Davis Jr.
3. Danny Smith, Hendersonville, Tenn.
4. Rocky Hodges, Des Moines
5. Cliff Woodward, Kearney, Mo
6. Todd Mack, East Grand Forks, Minn.
7. Marlon Jones, Sioux Falls, S.D.
8. Tod Bishop, Harrisburg, Ill.
9. Sonny Smyser, Lancaster, Mo.
10.Mark Shaffer, Newton

No comments:

Post a Comment