Saturday, April 8, 2023

1973 – Trickle Cops MASCAR Race on Rolla Oval

Dick Trickle

Rolla, Mo. (April 8, 1973) – The top winner among the nation’s stock car drivers, Dick Trickle of Wisconsin Rapids Wis., came from the back of the pack on Sunday to capture the $11,000 Rolla 200.

Trickle arrived here late on Saturday, too late for time trials, and had to take the last slot in the 26-car field.

Larry Phillips of Springfield, Mo., who turned the top qualifying time of 17.60 seconds on Saturday, led 77 of the 200 laps before ignition trouble forced him to the pits. He was able to get back on the track but had to settle for fifth place.

Joe Shear of Beloit, Wis., took over where Phillips left off and held it for 25 circuits before Bob Senneker of Dorr, Mich., grabbed the lead on lap 103. Senneker would yield the top spot to Trickle 38 laps later.

Trickle still had to fight off the challenges of Senneker, who was 200 feet back at the checkered flag.

Race officials said the time for the 100-mile race was 1 hour and 28 minutes, the fastest 200-lap race ever sanctioned by Mid-America Stock Car Association of Racing (MASCAR).

Trickle holds the one-lap qualifying record at Rolla with a time of 17.09 seconds.

Results –

1. Dick Trickle, Wisconsin Rapids, Wis.
2. Bob Senneker, Dorr, Mich.
3. Tom Maier, Midland, Mich.
4. Joe Shear, Beloit, Wis.
5. Larry Phillips, Springfield
6. Dave Goldsberry, Springfield
7. Bob Frueh, Rolla
8. Vance Cook, Jonesboro, Ark.
9. Franklin Davis, Springfield
10.Don Klein, St. Louis
11.Kenny Schrum, St. Louis
12.Ken Schroeder, St. Louis
13. Bill Travers, St. Louis
14.Vern Brunner, Chicago
15.Dave Gramm, St. Louis
16.Dale Roper, Fair Groves
17.Ron Todd, Springfield
18.Bernie Ford, St. Louis
19.Eddie House, St. James
20.Chet McDowell, Rolla


No comments:

Post a Comment