Sunday, April 30, 2023

1983 – Schiltz Captures ‘Pepsi Spring Championship’

Des Moines, Iowa (April 30, 1983) – Dick Schiltz of Waterloo scored his first NASCAR Grand American victory of 1983 Saturday night as he topped a stellar field of late models in the Pepsi Spring Championship at the Iowa State Fairgrounds.

Schiltz held off Bob Hill of Randall for the victory while Ed Sanger of Waterloo took third. Scotts Sells of Waverly finished fourth and Denny Osborn of Cedar Falls – winner of first two NASCAR events in Iowa this year – grabbed fifth place.

Jack Mitchell of Cedar Falls debuted a new IMCA modified and captured the feature race in that division as he topped Dean Schroeder of Iowa Falls, Mike Hackbarth of Marion, Mike Schulte of Norway, and Bob Bowser of Cedar Rapids.

Late model heat wins went to Schiltz and Martin Bennett of Des Moines. IMCA modified heat wins went to Hackbarth and Mitchell.

Results –

Late Model –

Heat #1 – Dick Schiltz, Waterloo
Heat #2 - Martin Bennett, Des Moines
Feature –
1. Dick Schiltz
2. Bob Hill, Randall
3. Ed Sanger, Waterloo
4. Scott Sells, Waverly
5. Denny Osborn, Cedar Falls
6. Jim Anderson, Des Moines
7. Darrel DeFrance, Marshalltown
8. Gary Webb, Davenport
9. Denny Rosenberg, Des Moines
10.Frank Ince, Des Moines

IMCA Modified –

Heat #1 – Mike Hackbarth, Marion
Heat #2 - Jack Mitchell, Cedar Falls
Feature –
1. Jack Mitchell
2. Dean Schroeder, Iowa Falls
3. Mike Hackbarth
4. Mike Schulte, Norway
5. Bob Bowser, Cedar Rapids
6. Bernie Juliar, Hudson
7. Denny McCaw, Marengo
8. Howard Stinger, Cedar Rapids
9. Merv Chandler, Cedar Rapids
10.Steve Stinger, Hiawatha

No comments:

Post a Comment