Wednesday, April 26, 2023

1970 – Droste Cops Tipton Spring Championship

Tipton Spring Championship winner Red Droste is presented his trophy by Hawkeye Racing News’ Keith Knaack. Flagman Cy Bohr presents the checkers.

Tipton, Iowa (April 26, 1970) – Red Droste continued his winning ways Sunday night, taking home the feature prize at the Eastern Iowa Spring Championship late model stock car race at the Cedar County Fairgrounds.

Earlier in the afternoon, Droste had won the Spring Championship at the Benton County Fairgrounds in Vinton.

Droste also won the third heat. In both events, he had to fight off a determined Pokey West of Westchester.

Bill Barthelmes of Tory Mills and Bud Darting of Wilton thrilled the fans with their duel in the semi-main, with Barthelmes getting the checkered.

Perry Beckler of Tiffin won the first heat and Ed Sanger of Waterloo won the second. Ernie Speth of Davenport piloted his Ford to the consolation win.

Results –

Heat #1 – Perry Beckler, Tiffin
Heat #2 – Ed Sanger, Waterloo
Heat #3 – Red Droste, Waterloo
Semi-main – Bill Barthelmes, Troy Mills
Consolation – Ernie Speth, Davenport
Feature –
1. Red Droste
2. Pokey West, Westchester
3. Skip Kennedy, Dubuque
4. Bob Helm, Rochester
5. Bill Barthelmes
6. Ed Sanger
7. Ed Brown, Dubuque
8. Blackie Lyons, Cascade
9. Jim Havill, New Liberty
10. Pat Blake, Clarence

No comments:

Post a Comment