Tuesday, March 24, 2020

1974 – Puterbaugh is Reading sprint car winner

Bill Puterbaugh (73) battles Jan Opperman (90) during their USAC sprint car encounter at the Reading Fairgrounds. Puterbaugh would win the 40-lapper. – John Mahoney Photo

Reading, Penn. (March 24, 1974) - Bill Puterbaugh of Indianapolis, Ind., scored his first USAC sprint feature victory since 1971 by prevailing in the first 40-lap event of the season at Reading Fairgrounds on Sunday afternoon.

Starting in eighth place, Puterbaugh took the lead from Jan Opperman, Beaver Crossing, Neb., on the 23rd lap and then battled Duane Carter Jr., who finally submitted to a spinout that forced him to the back of the pack on the 36th lap.

Opperman salvaged second place, followed by Don Nordhorn, Wadesville, Ind.; Lebanon's Lee Osborne, and Mel Cornett of Milwaukee, Wis.

Heat winners were Sheldon Kinser, Bloomington, Ind.; Kramer Williamson, Mechanicsburg and Cornett.

Osborne captured the 10-lap semi-feature. George Snyder of Indianapolis clocked a 23.50 as fastest in the time trials.

Results –

1. Bill Puterbaugh
2. Jan Opperman
3. Don Nordhorn
4. Lee Osborne
5. Mel Cornett
6. Pancho Carter
7. Sam Sessions
8. Bill Cassella
9. Kramer Williamson
10.Rich Leavell
11.Greg Leffler
12.Bruce Walkup
13.Johnny Parsons
14.Mike Lloyd
15.Sheldon Kinser

No comments:

Post a Comment