Thursday, September 11, 2014

1977 - Stott captures Governor’s Cup 250

Ramo Stott 

West Allis, Wis. (September 11, 1977) - Ramo Stott of Keokuk, Iowa, took his final lead on the 195th lap Sunday and won the Governor's Cup 250-mile stock car race at the Wisconsin State Fair Park Speedway.

Stott, driving a 1977 Plymouth Volare, averaged 88.202 miles per hour to cross the - finish line four seconds ahead of Paul Feldner of Richfield, Wis., who drove a 1974 Dodge Charger.

Stott won $6,727 and moved into second place in the United States Auto Club point’s standings behind Feldner, who leads the standings with 1,525 points. Stott has 1,425. Jim Sauter of Necedah, Wis., was third in a 1974 Charger and Al Schill of Franklin, Wis., finished fourth in a 1976 Ford Torino in his first USAC race.

Dave Watson, winner of two of the first three USAC stock car races at Milwaukee this season and Sunday’s polesitter, ran only 112 laps in his 1977 Buick Skylark before being sidelined with a broken crankshaft.

Sal Tovella of Addison, Ill., who had been tied with Feldner for the points lead prior to Sunday's race, completed only 80 laps before blowing an engine.

The race was slowed by 10 yellow flags and 17 of the 31 starters did not finish. Stott was content to sit back and let other drivers lead in the early going.

“There was a point earlier in the race where I could have taken the lead, but I didn’t want it,” Stott said. “I figured right then, with about 200 miles to go, it was too soon to be up there. So I sat back and let those other guys pass me. I let them run their cars hard, while I hung back a bit.”

“I figured the race wouldn’t be decided until the last 50 laps, and if you were around then, you'd have a shot at winning it.”

Results –

  1. Ramo Stott
  2. Paul Feldner
  3. Jim Sauter
  4. Al Schill
  5. Larry Moore
  6. Wayne Watercutter
  7. Don Seaborn
  8. Dean Roper
  9. Gordon Blankenship
  10. Darwin Sandstrom
  11. George Giesen
  12. M.J. McBride
  13. Ken Miller
  14. Dale Koehler
  15. Don White
  16. Tom Schley
  17. Bob Schacht
  18. Jim Hurlburt
  19. Jeff Bloom
  20. Dave Watson
  21. Bay Darnell
  22. Tom Meinberg
  23. Jack Bowsher
  24. Sal Tovella
  25. Harold Fair
  26. Dave Decker
  27. Rich Clement
  28. Tom Bigelow
  29. Charlie Glotzbach
  30. Bob Brevak

No comments:

Post a Comment