Monday, April 19, 2010

This week in history

1997 - It was the same old song and dance at the Iowa State Fairgrounds for defending sprint car champion Larry Pinegar II of Des Moines. Pinegar, who won 10 features in 1996, finished ahead of Bruce Williams of Indianola, to win the season opener on April 18. Russ Gladson (IMCA modified) and Steve Jackson (IMCA stock car), both of Des Moines, were opening night winners as well.

1980 - Leon Plank of Mondovi, Wis., sailed to victory Sunday evening in the 50-lap $10,000 Spring Fever Special at Hawkeye Downs Speedway in Cedar Rapids on April 20. Plank won the trophy dash and led all 50 laps in picking up the win over Tom Hearst of Wilton, Denny Osborn of Cedar Falls, Duane Steffe of East Moline, Ill. and Roger Dolan of Lisbon.

1975 - Willie Crane of Springfield, Mo., took home the trophy dash and the "A" feature before the home crowd at Fairgrounds Speedway on Friday evening, April 18. Crane passed race leader Ed Reed early in the contest and then held off Larry Ball to secure the victory.

1968 - Norm Setran of Minneapolis, wheeled his 68' Ford Torino into victory lane at Elko Speedway on Sunday afternoon, April 20. After racing side-by-side for 12 laps with Larry Smith of Shakopee, Setran charged by Smith on lap 24 of the 30-lap feature to score the win. Dan Prizborowski of Savage, Minn., took third, Dick Giles of Minneapolis grabbed fourth and Lowell Englert of St. Paul rounding out the top five.

No comments:

Post a Comment