Saturday, March 27, 2021

1966 – Larson Wins Reading Season Opener

Jud Larson

Reading, Penn. (March 27, 1966) – For the second straight year, Jud Larson of Speedway, Ind., has captured the sprint car season opener of the United States Auto Club.

Larson covered the 30-lap race Sunday afternoon in 14 minutes and 25.96 seconds.

One driver, Carl Williams of Kansas City, was shaken up in a mishap during the second qualifying heat race. His car flipped three times and landed on its top in the infield at the Reading Fairgrounds. Examined at a local hospital, he later returned to the track.

Red Riegel of Leesport, Penn., finished second. Arnold Knepper of Belleville, Il., was third, followed by Roger McCluskey of Tucson, Ariz., and Mario Andretti of Nazareth, Penn., the 1965 USAC sprint car national champion.

The total purse was $5,000.

Heat winners were McCluskey, Al Miller of Detroit and Larry Dickson of Marietta, Ohio.

Results –

1. Jud Larson
2. Red Riegel
3. Arnie Knepper
4. Roger McCluskey
5. Mario Andretti
6. Don Hewitt
7. Karl Busson
8. Dave Lundy
9. Chuck Allen
10.Bill Brown
11.Bobby Unser
12.Al Miller
13.Ronnie Duman
14.Larry Dickson
15.Sam Sessions

No comments:

Post a Comment