Friday, November 1, 2019

1981 – Teamwork Key to Race Win for Lindley

Butch Lindley

Nashville, Tenn. (November 1, 1981) – Butch Lindley says he’s had good luck racing at Nashville in the past, but he credits teamwork for his victory in the All-American 400 stock car race.

Lindley, of Greenville, S.C., took home $14,625 Sunday afternoon for crossing the finish line 5.5 seconds ahead of polesitter Mark Martin of North Liberty, Ind., at the Nashville International Speedway.

“We’ve had awful good luck here at Nashville and this isn’t the first time we’ve won here,” Lindley said. “But I believe this is the biggest race we’ve won as far as the most money and the most different types of drivers.”

The 33-year-old Lindley said he enjoyed Sunday afternoon’s 3 hour, 50 minute and 9 second drive on the .596-mile asphalt track. His average speed was 75.33 miles per hour.

“The crew did a heckuva job and that’s what it takes to win. If you don’t put it all together at the same time, most of the time you lose,” Lindley remarked.

“They knew what to do today and I tried to do the best job I possibly could,” added the victor, who is a two-time NASCAR sportsman national champion.

Lindley, driving a GT Racing Flash Dillon Camaro, led 204 of the 400 laps.

Behind Lindley and Martin were Dick Trickle of Wisconsin Rapids, Wis., Joe Shear of Twin Lakes, Wis., and Don Sprouse of Greer, S.C.

Lindley led all but 15 of the last 154 laps, falling behind only when he pitted for a fresh set of tires. Martin did not change tires for the final 270 laps and slowed towards the end of the contest.


1. Butch Lindley
2. Mark Martin
3. Dick Trickle
4. Joe Shear
5. Don Sprouse
6. Alan Kulwicki
7. Dave Watson
8. Bruce VanderLaan
9. Sterling Marlin
10. Buddy Schrock
11. Bobby Tinkham 
12. Harold Fair
13. Butch Miller
14. Rick Wilson
15. Rat Lane
16. Dennis Vogel
17. Rusty Wallace
18. Junior Niedecken
19. Bob Senneker
20. Doug Klein
21. Jackie McGuire
22.Alton Jones
23. Tony Cunningham
24. Freddy Fryar
25. Bob Strait
26. John Knaus
27. Don Gregory
28. Randy Couch
29. Larry Moyer
30. Mike Eddy
31. Steve Grissom
32. David Pearson
33. Kasper Miles
34. Darryl Sage
35. Bob Sensiba
36. Don Biederman
37. Jimmy Finger
38. John Briggs
39. Rodney Combs
40. Robin McCall

No comments:

Post a Comment