Saturday, November 2, 2019

1980 – Bettenhausen Claims ‘Dirt’ Championship

Gary Bettenhausen receives his trophy after winning the 100-lapper at 'The Action Track'.

Terre Haute, Ind. (November 2, 1980) — Gary Bettenhausen was named the 1980 United States Auto Club’s National Dirt Car Champion Sunday after winning the 100-lap dirt car race at the Vigo County Fairgrounds' half-mile dirt oval. 

Bettenhausen, 38, Monrovia, Ind., took home $4,500 in prize money from the win.

Bettenhausen led the first 62 laps of the race, then lost the lead to Tom Bigelow, Whitewater, Wis., until he spun out and hit the wall in lap 87. Bigelow was not hurt.

Bettenhausen took the lead again and held it for the victory.

Johnny Parsons, Speedway, Ind., took second place, followed by Ken Schrader, Fenton, Mo., who started on the pole position, in third. Larry Dickson, Marietta, Ohio, finished fourth. 

Results –

1. Gary Bettenhausen
2. Johnny Parsons
3. Ken Schrader
4. Larry Dickson
5. Pancho Carter
6. Rich Vogler
7. Larry Rice
8. Sheldon Kinser
9. Jim McElreath
10.Tom Bigelow

No comments:

Post a Comment