Tuesday, April 26, 2016

1975 - Hansen Wins Opener at West Liberty

Curt Hansen 

West Liberty, Iowa (April 26, 1975) - A large crowd of nearly 2,500 fan braved cold and threatening weather to watch opening night of stock car racing at the West Liberty Fairgrounds on Saturday night.

Curt Hansen of Dike followed up his victory Friday night at Columbus Junction with the feature victory here in the wreck-marred windup.

Only 10 of the 19 cars that started the feature were still around at the end. Steve Keppler spun out in the fourth turn of the third lap and several cars smacked into him.

Going out of the race were Mel Morris, Duane Steffe, Jim Strube and Ron Weedon - all among the top drivers during the earlier racing. Keppeler remained in the race and wound up second to Hansen.

Strube, a newcomer to the circuit from Peoria, Ill., set a track record in his first time out in time trials. He recorded a 24.39 second clocking to break the old mark of 24.40 by Darrell Dake.

Despite a brief shower the track was in good shape, as eight drivers bettered 25 seconds in time trials.

Heat winners on the first night were Morris, John Moss and Steffe and Keppler won the semi-main.

Results –

1. Curt Hansen, Dike
2. Steve Keppler, Marion
3. Fred Horn, Marion
4. Darrell Dake, Cedar Rapids
5. Ken Walton, Cedar Rapids
6. Ron Prymek, Iowa City
7. Sam Reakes, Rockford, Ill.
8. Duane Steffe, Colona, Ill.
9. Dave Birkhofer, Muscatine
10. Gail Brenner, Wilton
11. John Moss, Iowa City
12. Ron Hemsted, Lone Tree

1 comment: