Tuesday, December 15, 2009

Did you know?

Due to being the 1963 and 1964 IMCA new model stock car national champion, Keokuk, Iowa driver Dick Hutcherson was not eligible for the 1965 NASCAR Grand National Series Rookie of the Year even though he won nine times and finished second in the final point standings. The award was given to Sam McQuagg.


  1. Huummm...I wonder if there was a little rivalry there?
    Mike Townsley

  2. At the time, IMCA was bigger than NASCAR so I'm sure there was a little bitterness...

    Thanks for reading Mike!