Wednesday, February 7, 2024

1982 - Ruttman wins Daytona ARCA 200

Joe Ruttman enjoys the spoils of victory after winning the ARCA 200-lapper at Daytona International Speedway. 

Daytona Beach, Fla. (February 7, 1982) – Joe Ruttman of Upland, Calif., won the 19th annual ARCA 200 at Daytona International Speedway Sunday afternoon.

Ruttman, who started on the outside of the front row, held off polesitter Billie Harvey of Armuchee, Ga., for the win. Harvey was 3.6 seconds behind Ruttman at the finish. Third was Scott Stovall of Fort Wayne, Ind., who was passed by Harvey on the last lap.

Two Iowans started the race with rookie Phil Barkdoll of Garrison, Iowa, finishing 11th and 1981 ARCA rookie of the year Gordy Blankenship of Keokuk, Iowa, ending up 35th after suffering mechanical problems early on in the event.

The 80-lap race was slowed by four cautions periods that lasted a total of 20 laps. The worst accident of the event happened when Delmar Clark of Gnadenhutten, Ohio, hit the inside retaining wall coming into the tri-oval. Clark was attempting to miss Dennis Crowder of Ft. Smith, Ark., when he lost control of his car. Crowder had spun, hit the wall and stopped in the middle of the racetrack.

Clark’s car became airborne after hitting the retaining barrier and he flipped wildly several times. Clark was not seriously injured in the mishap.

Ruttman and Harvey pulled away from the rest of the field early in thee race and hooked up in a draft. Harvey led the race for the first 13 circuits, Crowder was in front on laps 14 and 15, and Rick Roland took over from lap 16 to 20. Ruttman led for the first time from laps 21 to 27 and Larry Moyer of Fort Wayne, Ind., was on top the next time around. Stuart Huffman led two laps, but after that it was all Ruttman and Harvey.

Harvey led laps 31 to 35, Ruttman was on top for laps 35 to 55, Harvey led the 56th go-round and Ruttman led the rest of the way.

Average speed for the race was held down to 145.719 miles per hour due to the 20 laps under caution.

Results –

1. Joe Ruttman
2. Billie Harvey
3. Scott Stovall
4. Stuart Huffman
5. Bill Green
6. Jerry Churchill
7. Jerry Bowman
8. Woody Fisher
9. Jim Vaughn Jr.
10.Joel Stowe
11.Phil Barkdoll
12.Jim Hurlburt
13.L.T. Wechtel Jr.
14.Roger Neshem
15.Larry Smith
16.Bill Rasinen
17.Larry Moyer
18.Davey Allison
19.Mike Riley
20.John Anderson
21.Ferrell Harris
22.Bill Venturini
23.Bob Brevak
24.Terry Stineman
25.Rick Roland
26.Mike Porter
27.Dennis Crowder
28.Delmar Clark
29.Lee Raymond
30.Bill Meazell
31.Curtis Payne
32.Bob Dotter
33.Mark Gibson
34.Rick Hanley
35.Gordon Blankenship
36.Glenn Walker

No comments:

Post a Comment