Monday, February 12, 2024

1978 – Sauter Surges to ARCA Victory

Jim Sauter celebrates in victory lane after winning the ARCA 200-miler at Daytona. 

Daytona Beach, Fla (February 12, 1978) — Jim Sauter was successful on a sling-shot maneuver past Bruce Hill a quarter mile from the finish line Sunday to win the ARCA 200-mile race at the Daytona International Speedway.

Sauter had held the lead from the 64th lap until the third turn of the 80th and final lap when Hill went under him to grab the lead briefly.

On the fourth turn, Sauter returned the compliment and went underneath Hill, who crashed into the wall trying to keep his momentum.

As Sauter went around for his victory lap, Hill, parked near the entry way of pit row and shook his fist at the winner in anger.

This was Sauter’s first victory at Daytona and he accomplished the job with an average speed of 130.766 miles per hour in his Dodge.

Hill, the pole sitter in a Chevy, finished a lap behind the winner. Earl Ross, a Canadian driver, also was a lap back in a Ford; Delmar Clark was fourth, two laps back; and James Hurlbert also was two laps back.

The only casualty in the race occurred when Paul Dean of Sweetwater, Tenn., lost control of his Ford and it smacked into the wall on the second lap.

Results –

1. Jim Sauter
2. Bruce Hill
3. Earl Ross
4. Delmar Clark
5. Jim Hurlbert
6. Sandy Satullo
7. David Sosebee
8. Bill Clemons
9. Garry Sharp
10.John Haver
11.Mike Riley
12.Ralph Jones
13.Phil Finney
14.Brad Malcuit
15.Joe Millikan
16.Wayne Trinkle
17.Moose Myers
18.Grant Adcox
19.Bob Slawinski
20.Gary Wroan

No comments:

Post a Comment