Monday, April 13, 2015

1975 - Senneker Sets World Record at Winchester ASA Stock Go

Bob Senneker receives a kiss in victory lane at Winchester. 


Winchester, Ind. (April 13, 1975) - After blazing to a new world record for paved half-mile track in qualifying with a second lap (103.681 mph) around high-banked Winchester Speedway, Bob Senneker of Dorr, Mich., totally dominated the 100-lap main event for American Speed Association (ASA) late model stock cars today, leave the second place car by two lengths at the finish.

Senneker’s record smashing performance marked his second straight win on the Winchester track, having won the rich “Dri-Powr 400” on the ASA “Circuit of Champions” Series last September.

He dominated action in the 24-car feature event, racing past really leader Jack Shanklin on lap 4 and steadily increasing the margin on the remainder of the field from that point.

Senneker’s only serious challenger all day long was Larry Moore of Dayton, Ohio, who also broke the old single lap world mark of 17.93 seconds (held jointly by Vernon Schrock and Ed VanderLaan) in qualifying with a 17.907 second lap. Moore kept Senneker in sight until he blew a right front tire on lap 67, necessitating a pit stop.

Mickey Flora, of Muncie, Ind., mounted a daring charge by starting deep in the pack and fighting his way to third position in a blue brand-new Ford Falcon out of Jody Ridley’s shop in Chatsworth, Ga. A broken distributor gear sidelined him at 36 laps.

Behind Senneker and Moore, however, was a scrap for position throughout the race involving Carl Smith, Harold Scott and Moose Myers. Smith finally took charge until the post race inspection revealed he was short of the required weight, resulting in a post-race disqualification.

Smith's misfortune elevated Scott to second in the final standing, with Myers third; Dave Sorg fourth and Don Keevin in fifth.

Senneker’s victory was worth $1,115.

Results -

1. Bob Senneker, Dorr, Mich.
2. Harold Scott, New Castle
3. Moose Myers, Fort Wayne
4. Dave Sorg, Fort Wayne
5. Don Keevin, Anderson
6. Jim Hines, New Castle
7. Don Skaggs, Cambridge City
8. Roger Gillespie, Urbana, Ohio
9. Bill Noel, Anderson
10. Vern Schrock, Middlebury

No comments:

Post a Comment