Wednesday, April 29, 2015

1973 – Iowa drivers sweep top three places at Sedalia

Ramo Stott was all smiles after winning at Sedalia

Sedalia, Mo. (April 29, 1973) – Drivers from Keokuk, Iowa, all driving Dodges, swept the first three spots on Sunday afternoon in the annual Missouri 100, won in a record time by Ramo Stott.

Stott passed veteran Ernie Derr with two laps to go in the United States Auto Club event for late model stock cars on the one-mile dirt track at the Missouri State Fairgrounds.

With some 6,000 fans looking on, Don White took third place, two laps behind the leaders.

Stott won the $15,000 race in a record time of 1 hour, 10 minutes and 44 seconds, breaking the 1970 mark set by Roger McCluskey of Tucson, Ariz., driving a Plymouth, of 1 hour and 16 minutes. The average speed of the race was 84.819 mile per hour.

The 100-miler was run without caution flags and provided Stott his second consecutive USAC victory. He won the 100-lap feature at Knoxville on Saturday night.

Jack Bowsher of Springfield, Ohio, led the first 57 laps before his Ford Torino blew a head gasket. Bowsher had earned the pole position by qualifying with a lap record of 38.17 seconds.

Al Unser of Albuquerque, N.M., completed only two laps in his Rudy Hoerr Ford before dropping out with a faulty oil pump. The two-time Indianapolis 500 winner finished 19th at Knoxville.

Results –
  1. Ramo Stott
  2. Ernie Derr
  3. Don White
  4. Bay Darnell
  5. Butch Hartman
  6. Paul Feldner
  7. Ray bolander
  8. John Schultz
  9. Bob Robbins
  10. Dean Roper
  11. Paul Sizemore
  12. Jim Tobin
  13. Verlin Eaker
  14. Jack Bowsher
  15. Jay Behimer
  16. Steve Drake
  17. Mickey Flora
  18. Darwin Sandstrom
  19. Roger Dolan
  20. Irv Janey
  21. Sal Tovella
  22. Larry Moore
  23. Lefty Robinson

No comments:

Post a Comment