Friday, October 3, 2014

1976 – Detjens takes win in Oktoberfest 200

La Crosse Interstate Speedway promoter Larry Wehrs presents Oktoberfest champion Larry Detjens with his trophy. 

West Salem, Wis. (October 3, 1976) – Larry Detjens came home the big winner on Sunday as he captured the 100-lap main for late models at La Crosse Interstate Speedway’s Oktoberfest.

Detjens grabbed the lead from pole-sitter Dave Watson on the 24th circuit around the half-mile paved oval and was never headed the rest of the way.

Joe Shear got around Watson, the Rockford National Short Track champion, on lap 57 to take over second after a spirited duel that went on for 30 laps. By this time, however, Detjens had increased his margin to a half a lap, which Shear could not make up.

Trailing Watson, who wound up finishing third, was Dick Trickle, John Ziegler, Tom Reffner, Doug Strasburg, Jerry Eckhardt, Mark Lamoreaux, and Jim Back.

Shear captured the afternoon’s first 50-lap qualifying race over Watson, Reffner, Bob Carnes and Bob Gunn, who turned his car over to Dick Trickle for the 100-lapper.

The second 50-lap qualifier was won by Detjens who beat Ziegler, Bill Oas, Strasburg and Mike Miller.

Steve Arndt won the semi-main with Don Turner taking the consolation.

Reffner set a new track record 20.292 seconds during Saturday night’s action. Reffner also won the 20-lap Race of Champions over Watson, Detjens, Shear and Ziegler. The fast heats went to Reffner and Ziegler with the qualifying heats going to Bob Jusola, Arndt, and Pat Griffin. Dick Partington won the hobby stock main event.

Pete Mahlum won the La Crosse area late model feature on Friday night while Hub Schulenberg grabbed hobby stock honors.

Feature Results –

  1. Larry Detjens
  2. Joe Shear
  3. Dave Watson
  4. Dick Trickle
  5. John Ziegler
  6. Tom Reffner
  7. Doug Strasburg
  8. Jerry Eckhardt
  9. Mark Lamoreaux
  10. Jim Back
  11. Pat Griffin
  12. John Reimer
  13. John Boegeman
  14. Bruce Sparrman
  15. Jim Bohmsach
  16. Don Grant
  17. Ted Kitzman
  18. Jim Sauter
  19. Bob Carnes
  20. Dick Stang
  21. Marv Marzofka
  22. Fred Bender
  23. Mike Miller
  24. Rich Somers
  25. Kevin Lang
  26. Jerry Makara
  27. Bob Jusola
  28. Steve Burgess
  29. Bill Oas
  30. Larry Nipple

No comments:

Post a Comment