Wednesday, March 31, 2010

This week in history

2006 - Terry Phillips took advantage of Kelly Boen's bad luck and went on to win the North/South Shootout at I-80 Speedway in Greenwood, Neb., on April 1. Boen had a sizeable lead until a tire went down on lap 22 causing Boean to spin and leting Phillips inherit the top spot. Kyle Berck, drving his back-up car after a accident in his heat, qualified through the B-main and finished second after starting 27th.

2002 - Taking advantage of the pole position, Johnny "The Jet" Saathoff ran away with the $5,000 first place money in the IMCA modified feature during the Spring Nationals at Beatrice (Neb.) Speedway on March 30. It was Saathoff's third career Spring Nationals title having won in 1997 and 2001. Jeremy Miller of Batavia, Iowa scored the victory in the first annual Spring Fling special in the IMCA stock car division.

1996 - Larry Schuler snapped a two-year feature slump and won the 19th Annual ARTGO Spring Classic at Rockford Speedway on March 31. Schuler, piloting the only Ford in the field, led wire-to-wire in the 150-lap feature, fending off numerous challengers. Dudley Fleck finished second, Steve Carlson took third and Jim Weber and Joe Shear rounded out the top five.

1995 - Kenny Irwin Jr. and Mike Bliss scored convincing victories in the 5th Annual Rich Vogler Classic at Winchester (Ind.) Speedway on March 31. The USAC midget main went green to checker with Bliss outlasting Tony Stewart. The USAC sprint main event also went non-stop with Kenny Irwin Jr. getting by Greg Staab on lap six and cruising from there for a $5,000 pay day.

No comments:

Post a Comment