Tuesday, December 6, 2016

1964 - Hutcherson Named IMCA Late Model Titlist

Dick Hutcherson

Des Moines, Iowa (December 6, 1964) Dick Hutcherson of Keokuk, Iowa combined his own charging style with the amazing stamina of a 1964 Ford to win 29 feature events and National Championship honors on the International Motor Contest Association late model stock car circuit.

Hutcherson, who successfully defended his 1963 title position, earned in prize money alone a total of $21,360 plus a $2,415 share of the IMCA point and current late model fund bringing Dick’s overall winnings during 1964 to a healthy $24,175.

He also tallied 3,760 championship points on the circuit - 918 better than second place finisher Ramo Stott, also of Keokuk, Iowa. Perennial front-runner and five-time national champion Ernie Derr ended the season in third place. He and Stott both drove new “hemi-head” Plymouths during 1964.

A reasoned veteran at 33 years of age, “Hutch” has been competing with IMCA since 1959 He was no novice to the speed sport when he joined the association. In fact, he put in several top years of modified competition in Iowa and was Keokuk champ in 1956 and 1958. He has never finished lower than third in the IMCA point standings during those six years.

Hutcherson at present is working at the Holman and Moody plant in Charlotte. N. C, preparing a 1965 Ford for combat on the upcoming IMCA schedule which will get under way at Shreveport, La., in April.

Final Official IMCA Stock Car Point Standings -

1. Dick Hutcherson, Keokuk, Iowa – 3,760
2. Ramo Stott, Keokuk, Iowa – 2,842
3. Ernie Derr, Keokuk, Iowa – 2,665
4. Bob Jusola, Mound, Minn. - 1,611
5. Lenny Funk, Otis, Kan. - 1,513
6. Ole Brua, Albert Lea, Minn. - 1,438
7. Bob Reynolds, Edmond, Okla. - 1,210
8. Bill Thomas, St. Paul, Minn. - 618
9. Gil Haugen, Sioux Falls, S.D. - 505
10. Roland Wilson, Bedford, Iowa - 450
11. Dick Johnson, St. Paul, Minn. - 319
12. Dave Steffens, Eau Claire, Wis. - 337
13. Ralph Wilhelm, Milwaukee, Wis. - 293
14. Jim Washburn, Keokuk, Iowa - 271
15. John Mickey, Columbus Junction, Iowa - 266
16. Leon Bowman, Wichita, Kan. - 168
17. Bill Gibson, Kansas City, Kan. - 118
18. Johnny Beauchamp, Harlan, Iowa - 110

No comments:

Post a Comment