Wednesday, October 2, 2013

1983 - Eddy wins feature race at Winchester

Winchester, Ind. (October 2, 1983) - Mike Eddy of Midland, Mich., won the Winchester 400 late model stock car classic for the second time Sunday afternoon at Winchester Speedway.

The four-time American Speed Association driving champion, easily the fastest man on the track, took the checkered from flagman Johnny Potts with a 3.8-second edge over Butch Miller of Lawton, Mich., before the largest crowd in the 14-year history of the event.

In a race slowed by 12 caution flags, for a total of 85 laps run under yellow, Eddy, who previously won this classic in 1981, was clocked in two hours, 39 minutes, 30.14 second for his victory ride. Eddy and Miller were the only cars in the same lap at the finish as Jim Sauter of Necedah, Wis., who took third, was two laps off the pace.

Fourth, seven laps behind the two frontrunners, was 1980 race winner Terry Senneker of Wayland, Mich. fifth, 16 laps back at the end, was Tom Jones of Northbrook, Ill.

Rounding out the top ten were Bob Strait of Flossmoor, Ill., sixth; Tim Fontana of Valley View, Ohio, seventh; Kent Stauffer of Elyria, Ohio, eighth; Bob Sensiba of Middleville, Mich., with relief help from Mark Martin, ninth, and defending champion Rusty Wallace of Valley Park, Mo., tenth.

Results –

  1. Mike Eddy
  2. Butch Miller
  3. Jim Sauter
  4. Terry Senneker
  5. Tom Jones
  6. Bob Strait
  7. Tim Fontana
  8. Kent Stauffer
  9. Bob Sensiba
  10. Rusty Wallace
  11. Don Collins
  12. Terry Cater
  13. Dave Jensen
  14. Dennis Lampman
  15. Bobby Dotter
  16. Alan Kulwicki
  17. Ken Harrison
  18. Dick Trickle
  19. Don Moon
  20. Muttly Kurkowski
  21. Bob Senneker
  22. Harold Fair
  23. Jack Moore
  24. John Wilson
  25. Scott Stovall
  26. Buddy Schrock
  27. Dennis Vogel
  28. Mark Martin
  29. Larry Cope
  30. Mickey Flora

No comments:

Post a Comment